[java] Java questions

Started by
28 comments, last by eedok 20 years, 6 months ago
Buttons in Java are confusing me, all I want to do is set a button to an absolute position, and one is clicked to remove them, or place them offscreen. Does anyone here know how to do this? [edited by - eedok on September 24, 2003 1:23:16 AM]
Advertisement
Do something like "setLayout(null);", then to place your buttons, do something like "jButton1.setBounds(x, y, width, height);", then add it to the panel with the null layout. And to remove them just say "jPanel1.remove(jButton1);" and its gone. I believe that should work.
quote:setLayout(null);
This is exactly what I needed thx
I just got another question, I want to put a timer in my game,to go down 1 once a second, how would I go about doing so?
Im fairly new to java, but I believe I can help...

go here and look at javax.swing and go down to Timer.

int delay = 1000; //millisecondsActionListener taskPerformer = new ActionListener() {      public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent evt) {          //...Perform a task...      }};new Timer(delay, taskPerformer).start();

Seems pretty simple to me...

Later,
Lord Hen
Well if anyone was wondering here's the game I ended up making

http://www.voidofmind.com/eedok/game/msStones.html

it's only 2p mode right now but I'm working on making a 1p version and a bunch of other things..

There's a couple other things I am wondering,
a.) The next game I want to get on to making is a stepping stone game (like pong was to my stones game), I'd like it to be a maze game, that would read the maze from a file(created by a level editor in C or C++ whatever I end up using), how hard would it be for a java applet to read this file if it was in the codebase?