Intuitionistic Logic

Started by
8 comments, last by furby100 19 years, 2 months ago
Hey there oh wise ones, I have a bugging question to ask... Bit 'o background, I've recently deducted that my mind is better suited towards constructivism and intuitionistic logic, and always have been. From high school onwards I've always pretty much self-taught myself because the teaching methods in England weren't based upon constructivist views. My mathematical question is this(not that I actually understand much maths apart from some of it's philosophical origins): Is it possible for me to remain within the intuitionistic branch of maths without using classical logic, and if it is possible, would it benefit me or not? I'm actually wanting to learn maths because it ties in closely with how Lisp works and I'd like to understand it's mathematical origins. :) Any help would be appreciated. :) [Edited by - malune on February 22, 2005 8:16:44 AM]
Advertisement
Hi! I think you should instead stick to influentialisticism.

That word doesn't mean anything either, but it sounds way cooler than either of your two!
Quote:Original post by Squirm
Hi! I think you should instead stick to influentialisticism.

That word doesn't mean anything either, but it sounds way cooler than either of your two!

That wasn't very nice. Have you heard of Socrates? Maybe you should read up about him and find out one of the reasons he was so famous - for thinking outside the box and not assuming he knew everything, in fact he prefered thinking he knew nothing.

Anyway, if you want to cure your ignorance: http://mathworld.wolfram.com/IntuitionisticLogic.html
I did check with dictionary.com first - both words definitely weren't in there :)

Have to admit, that page makes absolutely no sense to me whatsoever . . .
Constructivist

Intuitionist

Now where is that google smiley.... :D

I do not know what exactly you are asking though, Malune.
Quote:Original post by Squirm