GameInstitute courses

Started by
14 comments, last by ktuluorion 17 years, 6 months ago
Has anybody enrolled their game development courses? I'm thinking of buying a few (dx1 and dx2) but I'd like to hear what I'll get from someone who's been there because 500$ is a lot for me.They sound great but still, I don't want to get ripped off.
Advertisement
Ive never enrolled in one, but from what I understand, if your in school you'd be better of waiting till summer vacation cause they are like real classes but online.
I'm a student and "enrolled" in most of the available courses. IMO, they are awesome. Seriously.

From everything I've seen, the courses are not "real-time" (I believe GameVersity is). For example: I've been enrolled in the first graphics class for years and still have access to all the materials (textbook/workbook PDFs, source code, etc). Personally, I've never taken any of the quizes or formally "finished" a course. I just enrolled for the knowledge. The course materials are, IMO, far better than 95% of the books out there.

The only thing that borders on real-time is the "timeblock" concept. You have X amount of timeblocks. You activate/use one timeblock and then you can access chat/forums and interact with the teacher and other students for a period of time. You have read-only access while no timeblocks are active. I've never activated one, but you've got plenty, should you want to do so.

Edit:

One of my favorite aspects of the GI courses is the lecture module. Each course has a set of Flash applications that combine a slide featuring diagrams and/or code snippets with an audio track. Typically a lecture module is paired with each chapter of a course's textbook.
Thank you guys for your replies! Thanks spartanx for a breifing! Did you enroll the DX module 1 and 2? Can you tell me if you really learn what they present at the video clip?