Where to start with Visual Basic programming???

Started by
9 comments, last by Metorical 15 years, 11 months ago
Hello, I am new to GameDev and I am also new to Visual Basic Programming. I've done a little programming with QBasic at my Highschool, I was able to make a pretty decent pong game, but thats about it, but I am now looking to step it up to Visual Basic and eventually C++ and/or C#. So here is my problem, I am having a hard time finding any good websites or books on Visual Basic programming. Does anyone know of any good sites or books on beginning Visual Basic programming??? Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated.
-----------------------------------------"With the mind, anything is possible"
Advertisement
In general VB isn't recommended to people serious about programming. It is quite powerful but not very popular, except in areas like writing quick utility applications. If you want to use a language with lots of relevant books and tutorials, VB isn't great (although I think MS provide sampes in multiple languages. It might be easier to just jump into C#.
say what?

2 jobs back everything there was done in VB.NET, and it was a serious company. Aside from unsafe code C# and VB.NET compile to exactly the same thing, it's just 2 different ways to write the same code.

As for a place to learn VB, have you tried coding4fun?
Quote:Original post by d000hg
In general VB isn't recommended to people serious about programming. It is quite powerful but not very popular, except in areas like writing quick utility applications. If you want to use a language with lots of relevant books and tutorials, VB isn't great (although I think MS provide sampes in multiple languages. It might be easier to just jump into C#.