problem rendering meshes

Started by
3 comments, last by randomblame 15 years, 3 months ago
Hello all this is my first post, I am new to direct x programming so don't pick on me too much. I subscribed to directxtutorials.com and I am following the lessons. I've run into several problems already that I've gotten through but this one I haven't found a solution to. Every time I try to render a mesh (other than the tea pot) The program will compile but crash hard. These are dx 9 programs running on the latest sdk with visual studio 2008 on vista 64 here is the source: main.cpp: LPDIRECT3DSURFACE9 z_buffer = NULL; // the pointer to the z-buffer // mesh declarations LPD3DXMESH meshSpaceship; // define the mesh pointer D3DMATERIAL9* material; // define the material object DWORD numMaterials; // stores the number of materials in the mesh // function prototypes void initD3D(HWND hWnd); // sets up and initializes Direct3D void render_frame(void); // renders a single frame void cleanD3D(void); // closes Direct3D and releases memory void init_graphics(void); // 3D declarations void init_light(void); // sets up the light and the material // the WindowProc function prototype LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND hWnd, UINT message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam); // the entry point for any Windows program int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow) { HWND hWnd; WNDCLASSEX wc; ZeroMemory(&wc, sizeof(WNDCLASSEX)); wc.cbSize = sizeof(WNDCLASSEX); wc.style = CS_HREDRAW | CS_VREDRAW; wc.lpfnWndProc = (WNDPROC)WindowProc; wc.hInstance = hInstance; wc.hCursor = LoadCursor(NULL, IDC_ARROW); wc.lpszClassName = L"WindowClass1"; RegisterClassEx(&wc); hWnd = CreateWindowEx(NULL, L"WindowClass1", L"Our Direct3D Program", WS_EX_TOPMOST | WS_POPUP, 0, 0, SCREEN_WIDTH, SCREEN_HEIGHT, NULL, NULL, hInstance, NULL); ShowWindow(hWnd, nCmdShow); // set up and initialize Direct3D initD3D(hWnd); // enter the main loop: MSG msg; while(TRUE) { DWORD starting_