Run away!

Started by
8 comments, last by Emergent 14 years, 7 months ago
Whats the theory behind a 2d game AI that runs away? How do they choose where to go? It is easy to choose where to go when chasing but not when running. This is for my game where noninfected NPCs run away from zombies
Advertisement
I've never really worked with AI myself, but I'd consider keeping a list of previously known 'safe' locations for each NPC. You could then use some sort of pathfinding logic to determine if there is a visibly safe path to the last known safe location and have the NPC go in that direction.

What would you do if you were being chased by zombies?
I'm no programmer but couldn't you compare co-ordinates between the uninfected NPC and a Zombie then have some algorithm to make the uninfected NPC keep maximum safe distance between Zombies? Is it a top down view? I dunno I'm just guessing =P
When pathfinding, you can guide your search with a heuristic. When pathfinding towards something, you use the distance to that point. But you can also reverse that and let the pathfinder search away from a point...

So just pick the nearest zombie and run a pathfinder to find a flight path.

Join us in Vienna for the nucl.ai Conference 2015, on July 20-22... Don't miss it!

Going on the assumption that your NPCs do not have a safezone (like one person has already posted) or are mainly reactionary, it still isn't too hard.

If your game is tile based, you could do something like this:

//NPC has seen a zombie and will now move//find the difference between the x and y positions of the NPC and the ZombiedifX = zombie.x - NPC.x;difY = zombie.y - NPC.y;//if the value isn't zero (to avoid divide by zero and it would be useless//anyways), add the value diveded by itself (to get either 1 or -1) to the NPC's//position.if(difX != 0){NPC.x += difX/difX;}if(difY != 0){NPC.y += difY/difY;}