Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.


Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!


Particle System Demo


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 ziplux   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 19 March 2000 - 11:43 AM

I just created a particle system demo. I wondering what I should do to make it better, and also what FPS everyone got and what you though of it. Please go to http://asylumentertainment.cjb.net to get it. Thanks in advance. BTW You move the mouse, the particle system follows, and click the mouse for an explosion of particles. Kind of like in Nox. Edited by - ziplux on 3/19/00 6:04:49 PM

Sponsor:

#2 DeShawn   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 19 March 2000 - 02:41 PM

I got a 24-26 FPS. That was pretty cool.

#3 Muzzafarath   Members   -  Reputation: 146

Posted 22 March 2000 - 06:30 AM

Really cool stuff. I got around 40 FPS. The weird thing is that the more particles there were on the screen, the higher the FPS got

#4 Mezz   Members   -  Reputation: 570

Posted 22 March 2000 - 06:52 AM

It wouldn''t work on mine,

you click on it - it seems to attempt switching
to fullscreen and then it bombs out back to the
desktop - no error or anything, it just quits.

-Mezz

#5 Nedelman   Members   -  Reputation: 166

Posted 22 March 2000 - 05:34 PM

Cool demo. It ran at 70-75 FPS on my Pentium 3 700 w/ GeForce. One thing though. I switched away from the program and couldn''t get back into it. You should write a little code to handle the WM_ACTIVATE message (sent to the app when the app is switched to or away from).



#6 ziplux   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 23 March 2000 - 09:19 AM

Thanks for all the replies. About WM_ACTIVATE, what do I call in that, lpddsprimary->Restore()?

#7 Nedelman   Members   -  Reputation: 166

Posted 24 March 2000 - 08:32 PM

This is something like what I''d put in:

case WM_ACTIVATE:

BOOL app_active = LOWORD(wParam);
if (app_active && ddraw)
{
//ddraw is the IDirectDraw7 object
ddraw->RestoreAllSurfaces();
}

break;





#8 ziplux   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 25 March 2000 - 03:12 PM

Mezz: You need DirectX 7. That may be the problem.

Thanks for all the responses. I''ll be posting an improved version soon.

#9 Nedelman   Members   -  Reputation: 166

Posted 27 March 2000 - 07:55 PM

I have DirectX 7. It''s not the problem.



#10 Kevinator   Members   -  Reputation: 229

Posted 01 April 2000 - 07:36 AM

Great work! I have a P2 450 Mhz with and Nvidia card. It maintained an FPS of 60, no matter how many particles there were on the screen.

#11 Mezz   Members   -  Reputation: 570

Posted 01 April 2000 - 07:43 AM

I''ve got DX7, and a good enough system (600/GeForce)

Thoughts?

-Mezz



#12 ziplux   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 05 April 2000 - 12:23 AM

Mezz: Do you have the .bmp file in the same directory as the .exe?

#13 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 06 April 2000 - 09:42 PM

You can''t restore your primary surface or your attached back surface
because these are part of video memory (your screen) and were wiped
out totally when modes switched. If you try to restore them, your
program will most likely crash. RestoreAllSurfaces() does not
restore these surfaces. It only restores the ones that are not
*touched* by mode switches.





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS