What's the incredibly EASIEST game to program for the GBA?

Started by
16 comments, last by slippers2k 21 years, 1 month ago
Starting out as I am as a gba developer, I''m trying to think of something nice and simple as a first game to be made. What do you guys think? Pong? Tetris? Something even more amoebic than that? I just want to be able to baby step up to something more significant, and more significant, etc. (Making a killer game on your first try is not impossible, it just feels impossibly hard.) If my understanding of sprites is fair enough, I might be able to design something and actually create a demo of it. But it depends on whether or not my compiler will let me compile certain sprite info or not. Anyways, any ideas? Thank you very VERY much for your time... it is most appreciated. Thanks in advance... -slippers2k p.s. what''s the easiest game YOU''VE programmed for the gba? Attack life''s problems like a Subaru... with all four wheels
Attack life's problems like a Subaru... with all four wheels
Advertisement
I''d start of with Pong as its very simple and incorporates basic AI. Then move on to something like Breakout as it has ''levels'' and thus is a nice introduction to resources then onto PacMan, more complicated AI, can use resources. Then... well its really up to you.
Pong sounds like a nice, simple idea. IDEAL for a newbie like me.

I''m assuming I just have to make three white sprites, right? (Two rectangular ones, and a small white square for the ball) Do I have to worry about sprite sizes and collision detection at all, or is there just a general method to creating all that?

I''m also assuming basic AI will be to follow the ball and hit it back with basic collision detection in place. Never really asked this... "how" does it follow the ball?

Thanks in advance for any assistance offered.

-slippers2k

Attack life''s problems like a Subaru... with all four wheels