• Create Account

How to handle/design RPG event ???

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
20 replies to this topic

#1 Veron2   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 07 May 2000 - 01:16 PM

Hello Everyone I''m newbie here, and I have a problem about event in RPG (i.e. when man talk to man2 and there is something happen, or when man walk to some position there is something happen but once ,or after fighting there is something happen , and all event happen once) if I desing it to state machine I will have a huge thousand states I try to search previos topic here but not found. Please advice me how to design event in RPG ..... how to keep all information about event ?? (words of people,item in ..., ...) Thank you very much .. Veron 2 Veron@rome.com

Sponsor:

#2 baskuenen   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 07 May 2000 - 01:33 PM

I don''t know in what stage of the project you are, but I''m guessing design stage...

Maybe it''s a good idea to sum all things up you want to use.
In one of my previous games I implemented doors, enemies, objects(equipment) and other events with the folowing structure:

typedef enum
{
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_LEFT,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_TOP,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_RIGHT,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_BOTTOM,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_ENEMY,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_EQUIPMENT,
ELEMENT_TYPE_DOOR_EVENT,
...etc...
}
ELEMENT_TYPE;

typedef struct
{
int iRoom;
int iCondition;
ELEMENT_TYPE eType;
int iX;
int iY;
...etc...
}
ELEMENT;

The condition is used if element is valid. For example:
- the player must have a key to open door.
- the player with a level below 10 gets enemy A.
- the player with a level above 10 gets enemy B.

Then I made a large list of "events".
When the player moved, I checked it''s position with those in the list.

Hope this is what you meant,
Bas.