Game Design School or Master's Degree?

Started by
7 comments, last by yardlevy 21 years, 1 month ago
Hi All, I am an engineering manager for a large networking company. I graduated with a BSc in Computer Engineering from UF(go Gators!!) in 1994 and have had several jobs as a test engineer and SW engineer at several large companies over my 8+ year career. I am now itching to really do what I have always wanted to do, and enter the Game Development industry as a programmer/developer/designer. I am weighing two alternatives to get me prepared to enter the industry: 1.)Go to Full Sail in Orlando for about 2 yrs and do their Game Design and Digital Media programs or 2.)go do a Master''s Degree in CS from Georgia Tech with all my course work focused on 3D Graphics, AI and SW Dev. Georgia Tech also has a single Game Design class. This would take also 2 years. My question is which one will give me the better chance of landing a job in the industry-- MSc. engineering degree focused on game development courses or the AA degree in dedicated game design and digital media. I have visited Full Sail and their program and campus are quite impressive. I understand that the programs are also very intensive with 40 hours a week in classes and labs. I live in Atlanta and am very familiar with GATech. So please tell me what you think. Thanks, D
Advertisement
I think both would look equally impressive on a resume at a game development company. The masters degree would look more impressive to other non-game development fields so I''d recommend that route so you have a better fall back plan if the professional game development thing doesn''t pan out for you.
I''m thinking about either grad school or Full Sail. My undergrad is Econ, but I’m still leaning towards Full Sail. However, Stanford has several correspondence in CS, software dev, and AI. I wouldn''t have to move to Orlando.

Since your undergrad is in CS, I''d also go with Full Sail.