Lisp is King

Started by
325 comments, last by bishop_pass 20 years, 5 months ago
Lisp is King. Is that enough to start a thread? (setf fruits '(apples oranges pears bananas)) Lisp is outrageously fun. Why do we need this thread? Well, all of us Lounge Lisp Lizards apparently like to discuss and promote Lisp. Sometimes our discussions get too specific in the General Programming Forum, or overwhelmed by all of the C++ class and vector discussions. Why don't we just rename that forum the C++ Forum? I'd like to discuss (and debate) Lisp here. Everything. Not just Arc. Not just XML. Not just AI. All of it. I want people who disagree with Lisp or despise it to participate. I want people who advocate it to participate. I want people to share Lisp snippets of code. I need this. I am no Lisp expert myself when it comes to programming in Lisp. But I'm an expert with regard to much of what has been accomplished with Lisp. I also wrote a mini Lisp interpreter ten years ago. A good thread to raise Lisp awareness would be great. But not specific to any particular problem domain or contentious topic. Yes, we can encompass all of that, and go off on topics with regard to those subjects, but let's not limit ourselves to one domain. [edited by - bishop_pass on March 6, 2003 6:19:52 PM]
Advertisement
lisp,, it reminds me of that useless wisp in wc3
You and SabreMan raised so much fuss about Lisp that I decided to free my mind. I bought "ANSI Common Lisp" yesterday night. Once the book gets here we''ll see where I''ll lean

Talk about freeing ones mind, I also bought "Modern C++ Design". Heard it''s supposed to blow my mind, but that''s a descussion for a different thread.
Lisp is awesome because you can make things like a quicksort so easily ... but then you try to make a heap sort

Firebird Entertainment