• Create Account

[java] new at this stuff

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 a2k   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 07 June 2000 - 04:20 AM

i'm very very new at java, and am wondering if you guys can tell me a few things. i have visual j++, and is this a good compiler, or are there better ones? and i've been browsing around some of the applet examples online, but have not been able to import this javax.swing.*, nor do i know what file, or file format these included libraries(?) are located at. i merely want to use functions like alphacomposite, japplet, jcomponent etc, Graphics2d, and other graphical methods, but can't seem to get it running in visual j++. are there perhaps some settings i need for visual? thanks a2k Edited by - a2k on 6/7/00 10:22:56 AM Edited by - a2k on 6/7/00 10:23:30 AM

Sponsor:

#2 joeG   Members   -  Reputation: 172

Posted 07 June 2000 - 04:54 AM

It''s awefully strange that you can''t import javax.swing.* Hmmm, ok did you check which version of the jdk your VisJ++ IDE supports. If it''s < jdk1.2 then check if you have the Java Runtime Environment. If you do then check if import com.swing.* works. If you do have a version of the jdk >= jdk1.2 then it''s probably an environment variable or setting that needs to be looked at.

Better recomendations follow:

If you have a *nix system you probably have emacs. There''s a java add-on to emacs called jde. If you have WinNT it''s still possible to use jde except that you''d have to get a bash shell for NT and probably a whole lot of other stuff.