Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Please test my RTS game - Pax Solaris


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
120 replies to this topic

#61 free lancer   Banned   -  Reputation: 100

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 July 2003 - 04:46 PM

quote:
Original post by D_JildQuantum
Hey i just thaught i might let you know, This could become the next Stick Soldiers

AARGH!!1
it was bound to happen someday...but i thought Stick Soldiers got pwned by Soldat?



Sponsor:

#62 Avatar God   Members   -  Reputation: 1072

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 July 2003 - 05:41 PM

Well, it pauses correctly when the window blurs - for which I am very grateful - but I can't figure out quite why it's doing this. But, knowing my computer, Norton or some other stupid program decided to do something (which is why I can't play any non-window-based or alt-tabbable games anymore... and since that is mostly everything, I'm very annoyed.)

Anyways, it's not really a problem, I was just curious.

But I still would like to know when I'm being attacked...

//I never got to play stick soldiers. I tried whenever the hell ago it was (on a different sn) but nothing ever ran. I don't particularly remember what the problem was.

-geo
red eye is coming back (the old site is still around, albeit in a weird transitional form)

[edited by - Avatar God on July 15, 2003 12:42:47 AM]

#63 Diodor   Members   -  Reputation: 517

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 July 2003 - 07:51 PM

quote:

Original post by D_JildQuantum

This could become the next Stick Soldiers



Heh Well, it''s pretty hard to beat a game where you need to score a headshot and blow someone''s head off because you lost your own and need a replacement.

quote:

Let me know if you want to add them into the game, or sell them as updates or something :-D



Sure, let me have a look at them (diodor at nbsd.de). There''ll be a place in the game for user made levels in a future update.

Speaking of updates, the time control update is online now, featuring 1x, 2x and 4x game speeds.

#64 D_JildQuantum   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 July 2003 - 03:47 AM

hehe i have had the update for 6 days now :-P anyway, do i just email you the custom ones?

Quantum

#65 Diodor   Members   -  Reputation: 517

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 July 2003 - 04:58 AM

quote:

hehe i have had the update for 6 days now :-P anyway, do i just email you the custom ones?


Yes.. unless you put them on a site for everyone reading this thread to get.

EDIT: Or you could simply post them here inside source tags as the levels are common text files.

[edited by - Diodor on July 16, 2003 12:01:27 PM]

#66 demonrazor2003   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 July 2003 - 05:43 AM

man dammit!

simplistic in its design, but one difficult p-o-s(for me anyways)in its gameplay.



#67 free lancer   Banned   -  Reputation: 100

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 July 2003 - 06:08 AM

quote:
Original post by demonrazor2003
man dammit!

simplistic in its design, but one difficult p-o-s(for me anyways)in its gameplay.



ummmm....ok.
burn shit, die, and eat, heretic. this game pwns.


#68 D_JildQuantum   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 July 2003 - 07:26 AM

Ok, ill put one of them in Scource tags here, and then email you the rest.

Quantum

#69 D_JildQuantum   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 July 2003 - 07:37 AM

Well, here is my first attempt that i made:


players=4
stars=37
registered=1
scalex=1.0
scaley=1.0
dx=0
dy=0
T-A-s0-x282-y167-n1 4
Y-A-s10-x190-y163-n1 4
Y-A-s10-x197-y82-n1 4
Y-A-s10-x279-y78-n1 4
G-A-s10-x239-y122-n4 2 3 1 0
G-A-s0-x667-y123-n4 19 12 13 11
G-A-s0-x257-y420-n4 16 14 15 17
G-A-s0-x651-y391-n4 18 9 8 10
Y-C-s10-x589-y448-n1 7
Y-C-s10-x713-y338-n1 7
Y-C-s10-x713-y449-n1 7
Y-D-s10-x723-y188-n1 5
Y-D-s10-x617-y77-n1 5
Y-D-s10-x716-y79-n1 5
Y-B-s10-x304-y462-n1 6
Y-B-s10-x212-y466-n1 6
Y-B-s10-x200-y370-n1 6
T-A-s0-x311-y369-n1 6
T-A-s0-x605-y354-n1 7
T-A-s0-x628-y160-n1 5
T-A-s0-x460-y269-n4 21 22 23 24
V-A-s0-x459-y218-n5 20 24 22 25 26
V-A-s0-x519-y272-n5 20 21 23 26 27
V-A-s0-x464-y321-n5 20 22 24 27 28
V-A-s0-x403-y265-n5 20 21 23 25 28
Y-A-s0-x393-y205-n6 24 21 29 30 33 34
Y-A-s0-x524-y205-n6 21 22 31 30 34 36
Y-A-s0-x527-y329-n6 22 23 32 31 36 35
Y-A-s0-x386-y326-n6 23 24 29 32 35 33
B-A-s0-x340-y262-n3 25 28 33
B-A-s0-x470-y165-n3 26 25 34
B-A-s0-x585-y279-n3 27 26 36
B-A-s0-x456-y387-n3 28 27 35
R-A-s0-x286-y259-n3 29 25 28
R-A-s0-x470-y111-n3 25 30 26
R-A-s0-x457-y439-n3 27 32 28
R-A-s0-x641-y281-n3 26 31 27


Quantum

#70 swiftcoder   Senior Moderators   -  Reputation: 10364

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 18 July 2003 - 06:49 AM

Sorry to be so long in replying:

Mac mice either have more than one button, or a simulated right-click, which works just as well.

No, you can''t build/test a mac build on a windows box (Some people has done this on Linux, but it is not very reliable), You would need a Mac, but surely you know someone with one?

Macs come with their own compiler and IDE, and the Dynamic Libs for mac SDL can be downloaded already compiled.

Your code may need some tweeking, but not much, just replacing DWORDs with ints and removing any inline assembly statements.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Making cross-platform software actually cross-platform (meaning compiles on OS X)

#71 liquiddark   Members   -  Reputation: 331

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2003 - 07:27 AM

Had to try it online before I replied.

Here are my thoughts:

1) This game rocks.
2) The endgame AI appears to need some additional work - it has a tendency to "hole up" against a superior opponent. I''ll give you an example:
In a game earlier today, my bud and I were playing on a map with two AIs. We got beat, but here''s the interesting part: near the end of the middle of the game, we had sufficient resources to team up and beat the dominating AI. This, in fact, would have been easy, except that the red AI holed up in its corner with about 80-100 units just cordoning off its production squares. Several times it had the opportunity to inflict a lot of damage to the dominant AI but instead it simply held ground.

I respect your skills here - the AI is pretty fantastic - but it would be even better if it handled this situation a little better.

Anyway, great work and you''ll be seeing my money soon enough.

Thanks,
ld

#72 liquiddark   Members   -  Reputation: 331

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2003 - 10:53 AM

Also, in the IP boxes please enable typing from the keypad!

thanks,
ld

#73 liquiddark   Members   -  Reputation: 331

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2003 - 12:15 PM

more ideas, if you''re interested:

- a (configurable?) key mapped to "say" a la most fps and rts games would be helpful
- clusters a la risk continents? If you hold a particular cluster, a production bonus ensues. As all good risk players know, this makes a big difference in your ability to move on the board, but you don''t get to hold for long...

ld


#74 Diodor   Members   -  Reputation: 517

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2003 - 08:23 PM

quote:

Original post by swiftcoder

No, you can''t build/test a mac build on a windows box (Some people has done this on Linux, but it is not very reliable), You would need a Mac, but surely you know someone with one?



Actually I can''t recall anyone having a mac, thinking about buying one, or even selling or advertising macs around here. It''s all PC. I''ll have to try at my uni.

quote:

Original post by liquiddark
2) The endgame AI appears to need some additional work - it has a tendency to "hole up" against a superior opponent.



Yes, that''s what it always does - it will not attack without having a certain advantage over the star it wants to attack.

quote:

In a game earlier today, my bud and I were playing on a map with two AIs. We got beat, but here''s the interesting part: near the end of the middle of the game, we had sufficient resources to team up and beat the dominating AI. This, in fact, would have been easy, except that the red AI holed up in its corner with about 80-100 units just cordoning off its production squares. Several times it had the opportunity to inflict a lot of damage to the dominant AI but instead it simply held



I assume the dominant AI had a significant force pitted against the red player. If you could have broken through its lines all the way to the border with the red player, then the units guarding the border would have attacked you and would have driven you back and followed you. But this would have caused the red player to attack the border and perhaps even break it.

The AI is pretty simple and predictable, but this very predictability allows you to plan your moves ahead.

quote:

Also, in the IP boxes please enable typing from the keypad!
- a (configurable?) key mapped to "say" a la most fps and rts games would be helpful



Thanks for these ideas, I''ll add them in the next update.

quote:

- clusters a la risk continents? If you hold a particular cluster, a production bonus ensues. As all good risk players know, this makes a big difference in your ability to move on the board, but you don''t get to hold for long...



I thought about adding continents but I decided against it as it always helps the dominant player, and I have nothing as strong as the risk cards to change the balance of power - since the game is real-time it is also a lot harder to break the control of a continent. But what I have found in both Risk and Pax is that continents form naturally as a means of defense, even without the production bonus - the gameplay is still there.


#75 liquiddark   Members   -  Reputation: 331

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2003 - 08:35 PM

Shift-tab in the ip boxes to move backwards would be nice, too. Simple windows standard behaviour, but it (hopefully) improves your UI that extra bit.



ld

#76 Avatar God   Members   -  Reputation: 1072

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 July 2003 - 06:40 PM

The pause thing - AIM (actually, Trillian-controlled AIM) is the thing. Whenever someone sends a new message, it pauses the game, even if I don''t open the window.

Anyways, it''s not a problem because I''ll probably open the window anyways.

#77 Avatar God   Members   -  Reputation: 1072

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 July 2003 - 06:44 PM

Hmm. Clicking around does it as well. I''m trying to figure out exactly what, but it sometimes comes up immediately after I click on blank space - I''m not sure what exactly it is, though.

#78 Avatar God   Members   -  Reputation: 1072

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 July 2003 - 07:25 PM

Who has some top (record) times?

I've gotten 5:42 on One, 8:something on Risk and who knows on Crossed.

Any interesting strategies? I've found that charging from the very start seems to work very well, and it sure helps to attack EVERYTHING from two planets.

//edit: oh, and don't take the white star unless you can hold it w/o constant fighting. if you can't, you'll lose lots of ships and probably a bunch of planets as well... esp on crossed. on one, it just chokes the map off.

[edited by - Avatar God on July 21, 2003 2:26:59 AM]

#79 Diodor   Members   -  Reputation: 517

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 July 2003 - 08:24 PM

quote:

Original post by Avatar God
I've gotten 5:42 on One, 8:something on Risk and who knows on Crossed.



3:24 on One 7:30 on Crossed.

quote:

Any interesting strategies?



Did you read the strategy tips on the nbsd.de/paxsolaris.htm page? Did those make sense? I think I'll have to rewrite those more verbosely sometimes.



[edited by - Diodor on July 21, 2003 3:25:49 AM]

#80 Diodor   Members   -  Reputation: 517

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 July 2003 - 08:28 PM

I'm curious: does everyone use the drag to give orders (move the mouse pointer across more stars while holding the left mouse button pushed to create a supply path - it also works well to attack - you can even set more stars to attack a single enemy star with just one mouse click) I really feel I should add this to the tutorial as it has made the game _a lot_ easier to play for me.

Also, do you read the tips at the start of each level?


[edited by - Diodor on July 21, 2003 3:29:07 AM]




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS