Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!


1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!


web pages


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 ncsu121978   Members   -  Reputation: 553

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 25 June 2000 - 04:31 PM

How would one go about registering a domain name for their website......say I wanted www.mygames.com, how would this be done ? Does it cost anything because I see alot of you guys on here who list webpages, there are custom ones, or at least appear to be.......I have a webpage but it is www.angelfire.com/games2/themgames/index.html see I don''t want all that I want something like www.themGames.com How is this done ? "Now go away or I shall taunt you a second time" - Monty Python and the Holy Grail themGames Productions

Sponsor:

#2 acw83   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 25 June 2000 - 04:39 PM

register.com

Then you have to pay someone to host your website.

My suggestion is to use namezero.com, and link the domain they give you to your angelfire page. It is a bit complicated though. Email me if you can''t figure out how to do it.

---
www.crazycrackerz.org

#3 the enemy   Members   -  Reputation: 233

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 25 June 2000 - 07:13 PM

As themgames.com has already been taken, you may want to reserve a name that hasnt been that you want, such as themgames.net

You can have free domain name parking with the GDA, and if you wish to then put a site up, we will host the domain and give you 50MB of web space with full cgi access and ASP with no banners or ads for just $8/month

Go to http://gda.i-techuk.net for more information

--
David Athay
GDA

#4 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 25 June 2000 - 07:26 PM

Can anyone tell me how easy it is to just reserved a domain name?
I just want the name, no website, nothing else.


#5 Obscure   Moderators   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 June 2000 - 01:35 AM

You can''t reserve one as such. You can buy one and park it (leave it dormant) which I think is basically what you want. Most hosting companies offer this service and it should cost a max of $50.

Dan Marchant
www.obscure.co.uk

#6 DeltaVee   Members   -  Reputation: 138

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 June 2000 - 08:41 AM

I registered with Easydns.com for 30 US. They have hosting options but you can get a better deal elsewhere. They 'park' your .com for free until you get a host.

Parking = They put up a web page saying that your site is under construction.

Hosting = someone gives you space on thier server to put your web page. Search around. You get what you pay for. Just about all hosting services restrict downloads to a certain number of gigabytes per month.

--------------------------
Carpe Diem

Edited by - DeltaVee on June 26, 2000 3:44:47 PM

#7 ncsu121978   Members   -  Reputation: 553

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 June 2000 - 10:28 AM

Go to the site register.com that acw83 recommended.......I registered themgeames.net and it didnt cost me anything....I am not sure if they host a web page for you but it will allow a redirect to your real webpage which is good enough for me
so if i type in www.themgames.net
it will take me to www.angelfire.com/games2/themgames/index.html
which is acceptable to me
FYI


"Now go away or I shall taunt you a second time"
- Monty Python and the Holy Grail
themGames Productions



#8 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 27 June 2000 - 05:35 PM

Hey, that''s cool . I didn''t even think about redirecting my domain
name to somewhere else like an Geocities or AngelFire account.

Although, don''t most free sites have policies against setting up a
commerical website that sells stuff?



#9 ncsu121978   Members   -  Reputation: 553

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2000 - 05:46 PM

Well I am not intending to sell stuff off of my site, at least not yet.....
It is just a place to put the work I have done and allow others to download it and stuff like that.


"Now go away or I shall taunt you a second time"
- Monty Python and the Holy Grail
themGames Productions



#10 Tiso   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 28 June 2000 - 04:02 AM

As far as free website providers go, crosswinds beats them all hands down. They allow business, sales, anything you want! Unlimited space, the sky is the limit! No advertisements, zip, nothing. The only thing though, they don''t allow you to post an image that is hosted by them on any message board not owned by crosswinds.

I think that''s okay though, if you want to display an image just upload it to geocities, simple.

http://www.crosswinds.net

Check it out!

............
Guardian Angel Interactive

#11 socks   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 28 June 2000 - 07:19 AM

last time i checked, crosswinds was incredibly slow

If all these errors are so fatal, why am I still alive?

#12 Tiso   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 28 June 2000 - 08:34 AM

Crosswinds? Slow? I don''t think so. I find them very reliable and easy to use. Alot better than tripod, xoom, and geocities combined if you ask me!

Good luck!

............
Guardian Angel Interactive

#13 Obscure   Moderators   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 June 2000 - 02:44 PM

The only downside with a redirected URL is that when you register the domain with search engines they pick up the real URL www.longandstupidnamefull.numbersnstuff/wa93 instead of your nice shiny redirected domain name.


Dan Marchant
www.obscure.co.uk

#14 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 29 June 2000 - 02:57 PM


How do you do those links to pages on this forum? Also, I''ve seen pictures posted, and quotes. Is there any place that explains any of this. It may sound like a stupid question, but I never figured it out.

#15 Obscure   Moderators   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2000 - 01:16 PM

You include standard html code in the message. The forum parses this when the message is posted so that the html code for a link just displays the link not the code.

Obscure Productions

Dan Marchant
www.obscure.co.uk

Edited by - Obscure on July 2, 2000 8:18:41 PM

#16 Julio   Members   -  Reputation: 116

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 02 July 2000 - 01:35 PM

or you could go to www.namezero.com and get it free. ya that''s right, free domain name.

JoeMont001@aol.com

#17 Obscure   Moderators   -  Reputation: 174

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 03 July 2000 - 06:15 AM

NOTHING is ever free. Be very careful when registering with "free domain" companies. Many of them offer only basic hosting services and if a domain becomes commercially viable you may well need to transfer to a commercial hosting company. At this time they charge you a transfer fee which is far in excess of the normal registration fee.


Dan Marchant
Obscure Productions




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS