Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


3D Terrain Demo - 397 KB


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 Eric   Members   -  Reputation: 138

Posted 30 June 2000 - 12:08 AM

Here's a little demo of my project (397 KB): [update] There was a problem with the first demo I posted here, which is discussed below. I've fixed the issue with the stencil-buff, and I've also added a dialog box that lets you pick the screen mode for the demo. Testers, this is what I ask of you: find the rez & color mode that gives you a reasonable frame-rate (30-50 fps) and share this info, along with your system info.[/update] hoverdemo_fixed.zip (313 KB): Instructions for demo: (1) Just extract everything and run the exe (2) Mess around in windowed mode, then alt+enter to fullscreen (640x480x16) (2) arrows control yaw & pitch (3) 'b' is go (4) 'n' & 'm' control roll (rolling does nothing, though) I would have made the map bigger except the culling isn't working yet: this map is about 110x80, which is roughly the size I hope to be able to render each frame. You can read a little more about the terrain LOD in this forum. Edited by - Eric on 6/30/00 6:47:43 PM

Sponsor:

#2 STVOY   Members   -  Reputation: 156

Posted 30 June 2000 - 01:42 AM

Well Now,

I have Celeron 500 64Ram And an unknown
vidoe card which runs UT and Q3 OK.
unfortunatley I could only get 10FPS
out of your demo. But that was OK and
I mean it was really good It was tricky
to control at times but if you adjusted the
controls for a gamer thatn you could have
a crackin'' game there.

STVOY

Mega Moh Mine!!

#3 Kazan   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Posted 30 June 2000 - 05:31 AM

For some reason your demo won't let me use my gfx card's D3DHAL device, I can only use the RGB device and that gives me about 3fps.

BTW: I've got a Voodoo Banshee 16MB AGP.

EDIT: My card only supports multi-pass alpha blending.

-- Kazan - Fire Mountain Games --

Edited by - Kazan on June 30, 2000 12:34:34 PM

#4 Eric   Members   -  Reputation: 138

Posted 30 June 2000 - 07:50 AM

Sorry guys. Someone wanted to see how my LOD ran, so I scraped this together rather quickly.

The most glaring error I found is that the enumeration only accepts modes with a stencil buffer, because previously I was planning to use one. Kazan, is your''s a VooDoo3? They don''t support stencil-buffs.

Compounded with this stencil-buff problem is the fact that I request a 16bpp color mode in fullscreen -- I think there are no modes w/ 16bpp color that have stencil-buffs, so now I''m wondering how the heck this thing is even running on my machine!

STVOY, I''d very much appreciate it if you could determine whether your 10 FPS is your HAL or the RGB device. With your processor, that could possibly be RGB. I think you can disable video acceleration under Control Settings.

#5 Kazan   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Posted 30 June 2000 - 09:34 AM

Yep, unfortunately my card doesn''t support stencil-buffers.

I tried it on my brothers Matrox G400 (AMD K6-2 300) and I got 37fps. It should look great when you have a massive landscape up and running.

-- Kazan - Fire Mountain Games --

#6 cyberben   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 30 June 2000 - 09:40 AM

So if you don''t need the stencil buffer you wanna take that out and repost it? So more of us can try it!
Thanks,
Ben

P.S. BTW I''ve got a Voodoo3 3000 as well... no stencil buffer.

#7 Eric   Members   -  Reputation: 138

Posted 30 June 2000 - 12:50 PM

I''ve fixed the stencil-buff problem and also added a dialog box that lets you pick from availabe 3D devices and screen modes. Note that, on my GeForce2, my HAL device got a higher frame-rate than my T&L HAL! (in other words, the processor doesn''t have enough to do)

#8 acw83   Members   -  Reputation: 174

Posted 30 June 2000 - 01:21 PM

I got 90 fps on my Athlon 700/GeForce256. Everything looked good except one small detail. The textures kind of look like they are swimming or "flowing" at certain angles. Otherwise, very cool.

---
www.crazycrackerz.org

#9 cyberben   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 30 June 2000 - 01:44 PM

Hmmm.... I got 30 - 75 fps however it was all greenish and yellowish looks like you didn''t take into account 555 and 565 16bit color modes or something? Could that be it?
With RGB emulation it looks normal though...

My machine is a PIII 533Mhz (b) w/ 128Mb ram Voodoo3 3000 SoundBlaster Live! etc... etc... That''s all you need for info right?

So check the 555 or 565 stuff then e-mail or I''ll see if I can check this post again...
See ya,
Ben


#10 DeShawn   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 30 June 2000 - 03:56 PM

I have a Pentium 166MHz, 48MB, and a Voodoo2 1000 PCI.
The FPS Count:
WHEN I VIEWED EDGES: around 35.
WHEN I MOVED AROUND: around 29.
WHEN I SAW THE WHOLE MAP: around 19.
The colors seemed messed up. I had it on 16 bit color mode. Was something wrong?

#11 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 30 June 2000 - 05:44 PM

acw83, I know exactly what you mean about the "flowing" texture. I think I just have to enable perspective-corrected textures in order to fix that.

cyberben, thanks a lot for emailing me your screenshots. DeShawn''s problem with the colors is probably identical to yours. I don''t think this has anything to do with 555 vs. 565 color formats. For one thing, the craft is Ben''s shots looks fine. Looking at your shots, Ben, it looks like the "random color" is not per pixel, but rather per vertex -- I can see smooth gradients across the triangle faces. So I think it''s a problem with how the vertices are being lit. Maybe I''ve been relying on some "defaults" for material and light settings that aren''t really SDK-defined defaults.

Anyway, I''m probably wearing out your patience, guys, so I''ll hold off a while before posting an update. I''m very happy with how the frame rate has been with your various systems. Maybe in a few weeks I''ll have physics, collision, and some AI opponents for you to race against (did I mention this is going to be a racing game?).

Thanks for everyone''s help thus far; any further input on this particular demo will be much appreciated

#12 cyberben   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 30 June 2000 - 05:51 PM

I''d enjoy testing it again later if you want to solve this odd problem...
- Ben




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS