Game Programming - Waste of Time?

Started by
15 comments, last by ByteMe95 23 years, 8 months ago
I, like almost everyone else on this board, have become somewhat of an addict when it comes to game programming. Always thinking about how to implement this, or optimize that, and code every free minute you have. But after reading a few posts on the $$$ involved in game programming, I''m beginning to wonder if it''s worth it. I started programming when I was 15 (20 now) really basic stuff. Never realized it would ldea to game programming, but it has. But since i started game programming, I havent focused on anything else! All my time and knowledge of programming has been dedicated to games. Ask me to whip up a quick 2d game in DX, no problem. Ask me to program a database using SQL or whatever and I''m lost. Looking through the ads for programming jobs everyone lists requirements like COBOL, SQL, bla bla bla, shit i dont know at all, and therefore cant find a decent summer job so I''m stuck here in a friggin dead end temp job bored out of m mind all day reading posts!! So I was just wondering if anyone else felt the same way, if game programming is the way they should be going. Dont think of the now, think of the future... (I highly doubt I''ll ever stop though, I''m already an addict. This shit is worse than crack!) ByteMe95::~ByteMe95() Cerebrum Software
ByteMe95::~ByteMe95()My S(h)ite
Advertisement
quote:Original post by ByteMe95

(I highly doubt I''ll ever stop though, I''m already an addict. This shit is worse than crack!)

Wait... does that mean you''ve tried crack?

lntakitopi@aol.com - http://www.geocities.com/guanajam
Most people I know do it because they love it. If you love it, of course it''s worth it. Money shouldn''t be a concern.