• Create Account

How experienced must you be to land a game programming job?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
38 replies to this topic

#1 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 27 October 1999 - 12:05 PM

Could someone tell me how good/experienced a programmer has to be in order to get a programming job at a game company?

I just graduated from college with a CS degree. I have no professional experience in programming.

I have created two demo games. They are both fully playable but they don't have title screens, high scores, etc. One is a 2D souped up Space Invaders clone, and the other is a 3D space shooter like a stripped-down homemade Starfox 64 for the N64.

I made these games so that I could have something to include with my resume. Will they help or am I wasting my time because of my lack of experience??

Please give me some advice.

Sponsor:

#2 DavidRM   Members   -  Reputation: 270

Posted 28 August 1999 - 06:10 PM

I think it mostly comes down to being willing to work for [censored] wages at [censored] hours...sometimes actual skill is handy but nothing beats a good "Slave Mentality" going in.

------------------
DavidRM
Samu Games

#3 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Posted 28 August 1999 - 07:18 PM

So, you are saying that game programmers make very little and work long hours? In general how much less would one be paid in an average game job versus an average non-game job?

#4 Pryankster   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 28 August 1999 - 07:52 PM

Well, I was interviewed by a game company, as a developer with over 15 years of programming experience. They made me an offer of 45K a year. I was making over 60K at the time.