Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Hover website


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

#1 Eric   Members   -  Reputation: 138

Posted 01 October 2000 - 02:14 PM

Hover is a 3D racing game, which some of you may remember from an earlier thread in this forum. Hover website
Actually, I was going for brevity, so it''s more of a web page. Please check it out and let me know what you think. Netscape users (v4.7 anyway): you don''t get to see the cool background image; my suggestion: get a browser that supports CSS!

Sponsor:

#2 Quantum   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 01 October 2000 - 04:52 PM

love that background
the colour scheme is nice.

#3 SeanHowe   Members   -  Reputation: 142

Posted 02 October 2000 - 12:20 PM

Hover crashes after about 30 seconds of running on my comp...
Win98
AMD Athlon 500mhz
Voodoo 3 3000
128mb of ram

#4 a2k   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 02 October 2000 - 06:06 PM

same thing happens to me. well, it freezes, then crashes, but they''re probably almost synonymous. also, i get that ill-colored texture underneath each hovercraft. if i try running it again, i get a blank screen.

128 mb ram. sorry-ass ati rage pro card. win98se.

a2k

#5 a2k   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 02 October 2000 - 06:17 PM

eric, if you don''t mind my asking, how did you do the collision detection? did you using any bsp, quad or oct trees?

a2k

#6 carwars   Members   -  Reputation: 150

Posted 07 October 2000 - 02:39 PM

Wasn''t there a game called Hover! that came with some copies of W95 that was a poor ripoff of Spectre for the Mac?

#7 Quantum   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 07 October 2000 - 04:33 PM

>Wasn''t there a game called Hover! that came with some copies of W95 that was a poor ripoff of Spectre for the Mac?

Hover! yes, Hover no

anyway, this is about 1000000 x better than Hover!

#8 firahs   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 288

Posted 07 October 2000 - 06:26 PM

Spectre was a darn good game



#9 a_insomniac   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 611

Posted 08 October 2000 - 10:18 AM

///You demo game is worth Beta Testing////

Its an excellent attempt for this type of a game.

My cpu meets the requirements but there are a few things I noticed will trying to run it.

1. If I dont hit the up arrow when the game first starts...it crashes

2. after I do hit the arrow to initiate a game, then once I hit the "m" key for acceleration it crashes after about 5 secs

3. while the game engine has started "in race mode" if I allow the hover craft to sit there everything is fine unless of course I start to move.

It may have something to do with the accelration part of your code as for why some of us are having problems with it.

I hope you continue with it, I would love to be able to complete at least a lap so I could see the entire track.

I was also impressed with the graphics, but just my 5 cents on that, you may want to use solid colors for your numbers just a suggestion.

Awesome .exe

a_insomniac



If my compiler was voice activated with the voice of my mother-in-law....there would be no errors!

#10 a_insomniac   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 611

Posted 08 October 2000 - 10:33 AM

Ignore parts of my last post. Sorry about that ,

I had been up all night coding, and I took a break by trying to play your game. Not reading all the instructions is why I posted what I posted. (Should have read everything first).

Still would like to test what you finish though



[Edited by - a_insomniac on January 6, 2008 12:33:00 PM]

#11 Eric   Members   -  Reputation: 138

Posted 08 October 2000 - 12:03 PM

a_insomniac, thanks for the feedback. However, I just wanted to say: I''m really not trying to beta-test this version of the demo. I will probably do some beta-testing in a month or so; for anyone interested, I''ll have a different executable, which will spit out information to a log file to help me figure out where crashes occur.

#12 Null and Void   Moderators   -  Reputation: 1087

Posted 08 October 2000 - 12:10 PM

I''m downloading it now, I will be able to give you information on how it runs like most people have been doing in a bit .

How I wish servers could actually use up all of the bandwidth on my 6 Mbit line, why else do I pay for it?

Null and Void
"In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics!" --Homer Simpson



#13 Null and Void   Moderators   -  Reputation: 1087

Posted 08 October 2000 - 12:27 PM

Well, I ran through a single circuit (and took first place too =P), it runs well (not sure how to get the fps) all the way up to 1024x768 32 bit color (that is as high as my monitor goes ) using the HAL of course.

No crashing or freezing at all, even in RGB mode, though it runs horribly in RGB mode, as is expected.

Good work .

Null and Void
"In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics!" --Homer Simpson



#14 Null and Void   Moderators   -  Reputation: 1087

Posted 08 October 2000 - 12:30 PM

I forgot to post my system specs, well, here they are:

AMD K6-II 500Mhz, TNT2 32MB M64, Sound Blaster Live!, 128MB, not sure if anything else applies .

Null and Void
"In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics!" --Homer Simpson






Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS