• Create Account

OpenGL Projects using Visual C++ 6.0

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 stick_man   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 31 May 2005 - 03:28 PM

I am reading "Beginning Game Programming" and at this point, in order to learn the material better, I want to create my own OpenGL program from scratch. I am new to Windows Programming and I am new to using MS Visual C++. Since no code I write will build without Link errors, I'm going to start with the basics. 1. What type of project should make for testing my newly learned OpenGL techniques? A Win32 Application? Win32 Console App? Ect. 2. What is a "Workspace" as compared to a "Project" ? 3. How do I link "GLU32.lib" and "OPENGL32.lib" to my projects? 4. What type of projects are the examples that came with my book? ( located on the CD, of course )

Sponsor:

#2 evillive2   Members   -  Reputation: 700

0Likes

Posted 31 May 2005 - 03:40 PM

Check out NeHe's OpenGL site. It is really good and the first tutorial there explains exactly what you asked for.

Good Luck.

#3 ogracian   Members   -  Reputation: 180

0Likes

Posted 31 May 2005 - 03:41 PM

Hello,

I really suggest you take a look at NeHe tutorials, it start from setting an OpenGL project and evolve to more advanced topics, the url is: http://nehe.gamedev.net/

All this tutorials comes with full working code and I am really sure it will help you in OpenGL development.

and for your questions:

1.- It depends, if you use glut you could use a console app, also this is cool for rapid prototyping but if you want more "control" of your app you should use a Win32 app.

2.- The main difference is that a workspace can contain muliple projects.

Regards,
Oscar

#4 zealouselixir   Members   -  Reputation: 237

0Likes

Posted 31 May 2005 - 03:42 PM