[java] Double buffering in applets

Started by
10 comments, last by DiscoStoo 23 years, 3 months ago
I am a long time veteran to C++, and just learned Java, mainly for the purpose of writing applets. Of course games are my main focus, and ya'' can''t have games without double buffering! (Or some equivalent form of animation) I''ve found many tutorials, but they all say: "Next lesson: Double buffering in applets!", then there are no more lessons. Almost like it''s a conspiracy... Anyway, I just need to know how to draw to an off-screen buffer instead of onscreen, then how to blit that to the screen. Everything else can be figured out with time. ------------------------------------------------------------ He wants a shoehorn, the kind with teeth, because he knows there''s no such thing.
------------------------------------------------------------He wants a shoehorn, the kind with teeth, because he knows there's no such thing.
Advertisement
I haven''t actually programmed in java in a while, but if I remember correctly, drawing to another buffer is really simple. In fact, it''s just like drawing to the onscreen buffer. You know about wrinting your paint function and passing Graphics g to it? Well, all you need to do to create a new buffer is to make another Graphics object.
Graphics g2 = new Graphics();
then, you draw to that just like you would draw to Graphics g in your paint function.
Check out http://www.binod.com/reference/index.html
for some good books. I know that the first one under java,
Black Art of Game Programming, has double buffer examples.

An easy way to get double buffering is to use a JApplet instead- this is the swing equivalent of Applet and hence is double buffered - but this is only one solution and probably not the best.
DiscoStoo,

Here's the way to do double-buffering :

At the class level make an image and a graphics object -

private Image buffer;
private Graphics bg;

Then, in the beginning of the paint method do this -