• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

Critique my catapult

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

#1 RAZORUNREAL   Members   -  Reputation: 567

0Likes

Posted 08 July 2006 - 01:45 AM

First off, I'm not an artist by any stretch of the imagination. I'm a programmer (meaning this is programmer art) and I'm only 17. But I spent a lot of time making this catapult for my 4E5 entry (like 4 full days) and I'm quite proud of how it's turned out. Here's a shot of it in my game engine: Catapult And here's one from blender, so you can see the texture without lighting: Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us It's 851 triangles with a 512 by 512 texture. I'd really appreciate some advice on how to make it look better.

Sponsor:

#2 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

0Likes

Posted 08 July 2006 - 01:53 AM

not bad... As for improvements, I cant see a spring mechanism or something which would make the catapult spring forward when the rope is cut ;)

#3 RAZORUNREAL   Members   -  Reputation: 567

0Likes

Posted 08 July 2006 - 02:04 AM

In true medieval style, you just bend the wood:
Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us
It's actually animated too, but it seemed a bit weird to cut the rope and have it materialise again out of nothingness, so I just left it there.

EDIT: If you'd like to see it in motion, here's a test app:
Catapult Test

[Edited by - RAZORUNREAL on July 8, 2006 9:04:08 AM]

#4 D Shankar   Members   -  Reputation: 241

0Likes