Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Pressing Alt-Tab twice doesn't return to my Direct3D application


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 cpp forever   Members   -  Reputation: 150

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 04:34 AM

I'm writing a full-screen Direct3D application. But the problem is when I press ALT-TAB and then press ALT-TAB again - it doesn't return to my Direct3D app. Simply to some other window (looks like non-standart windows behaviour, I think). What do you think? Thanks. P.S. I have also noticed that the same thing happens with Winamp. It must use some Direct3D features also, I think.

Sponsor:

#2 Servant of the Lord   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 21190

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 04:38 AM

Clicking alt+tab gets you out of Fullscreen. Holding alt and clicking tab, cycles through running applications. It'll bring up a bar with the application's icons on it. (You need more than one app open to cycle through them though)

It's a windows OS feature, I believe. You'd have to manually have your app catch those keys to make it do anything else, otherwise Windows will just handle it with the OS's basic key commands.
It's perfectly fine to abbreviate my username to 'Servant' rather than copy+pasting it all the time.
All glory be to the Man at the right hand... On David's throne the King will reign, and the Government will rest upon His shoulders. All the earth will see the salvation of God.
Of Stranger Flames - [indie turn-based rpg set in a para-historical French colony] | Indie RPG development journal

[Fly with me on Twitter] [Google+] [My broken website]

[Need web hosting? I personally like A Small Orange]


#3 S1CA   Members   -  Reputation: 1400

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 04:39 AM

It sounds like you aren't handling lost devices properly. Take a read of:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/directx9_c/Lost_Devices.asp?frame=true

Simon O'Connor | Personal website | Work


#4 cpp forever   Members   -  Reputation: 150

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 05:20 AM

Quote:
Original post by S1CA
It sounds like you aren't handling lost devices properly. Take a read of:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/directx9_c/Lost_Devices.asp?frame=true


Have read this and implemented everything like said there.
Also I have noticed such a bug in several DirectX games I have tried.

#5 TheAdmiral   Members   -  Reputation: 1118

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 07:53 AM

Try holding onto alt after pressing tab. The icon of the window that Windows is about to switch to will be highlighted (at least it will do the second time, when Windows has control of the screen) and its title shown. The list of tasks is ordered according to when they last had focus. Since your app was, in this example, the previous window with focus, it should appear highlighted as the second item in the list (the first being the app with current focus).

Which part of this mechanism is failing for you?

Regards
Admiral

#6 Twisol   Members   -  Reputation: 468

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 08:00 AM

I think I know what he means. When you alt-tab out of some full-screen applications, it works like you expect: it switches to the last window you were at before you started the app. But when you alt-tab again, the full-screen app is shifted to the 'back' of the alt-tab queue, as if it were the least recent one you were last looking at. It is a bit weird, admittedly. It's done this with World of Warcraft on my computer.

#7 Bliz23   Members   -  Reputation: 188

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 08:19 AM

that is because alt tabbing shows the render queue of the windows. it is saying that your program will be on top of everything else that there is. whats on the bottom will be rendered under everything before it in other words. But it doesnt take into account the minimizing, so when it is minimized, it will still try to render it on top, but since there is nothing to render, you wont see it. it makes sense when you actually think about it.

#8 cpp forever   Members   -  Reputation: 150

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 October 2006 - 10:04 PM

2 linkofazeroth:
Yes, right. Thanks.


Now I understand how this could be solved. I have tried to remove 'Always on Top' tick from Winamp and now it works with Alt-Tab queue as expected.
Maybe we somehow need to remove "Always on Top" flag from the Direct3D application (at least for the time when we press Alt-Tab)?




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS