PLEASE HELP I'M A NEWBIE!

Started by
8 comments, last by Newbie! 24 years, 4 months ago
Newbie!, I've seen numerous examples of QBasic games with Zelda style graphics, but even in QBasic you'll have to deal with memory buffers using peek and poke. That alone cancels out any user-friendliness QBasic has. With C++, you could do the same much quicker and with little difficulty as compared to QBasic. I'm no expert though, so look around and see what you find.
Advertisement
First of all, C++ is free as well - GCC or whatever it is. There a thousands of tutes on the net. Anyway, you wanna use qbasic. Here are the problems you will have:

* Memory - i.e. none
* Detail - 256 colurs max, thats at 320x200
* Graphics - File format decoding takes years, screen clearing is very slow, no support for double buffer
* Sound - dont even try

If you want a hand getting rid of these, use QuickBasic 4.5 - it was discontinued by Microsoft but has several options like compile to .exe, support for libraries, and so on. I might be able to give you a copy?

Yeah, unless you are already totally fluent (and in that case wouldnt need help) in QBasic I would suggest picking something else.

Visual Basic may be good for you if you already understand BASIC and dont want to learn another language right away, and it also works with DirectX.

C++ is another way to go and is what most people use when they are trying to make programs that arent totally windows driven (with buttons, Windows text boxes and such).

-Geoff

Qbasic does support double buffering. And you cant make anything to fancy, it still can produce averge games. I made a Pac-man clone, you can look at it at http://www.123.net/~sourmosh/pacman.bas
Make the move up to Windows. Use VB if you don't want to deal with the learning curve of C++. You'd have to buy VB though. There is at least one free C/C++ compiler out there. It's a matter of how much you want to spend.