• Create Account

C++, XNA, OpenGL, DirectX...

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 Zorphas   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 15 February 2007 - 01:45 PM

Hello, I'm a senior in CS major but I'm new to Game programming. I would like to get started but I'm not sure where to start. I've read the guides on the website and it seems everyone suggests C or C++. But I didn’t find anything on XNA. So, my first question is - If I'm just getting started should I start with Visual C++ or XNA? I think I already know the answer to this one but I'll ask it anyway... Should I start learning OpenGL or DirectX? (I've heard DirectX is used more often then OpenGL so I'm guessing DirectX?) Thanks you!

Sponsor:

#2 Deranged   Members   -  Reputation: 606

0Likes

Posted 15 February 2007 - 01:50 PM

As always this is one of those walk before you crawl kinds of things.. I recommend starting with C# and doing text based stuff first, moving on to 2d with something like SDL.Net, then moving on to 3d with something like XNA, OgreDotNet, mOgre, tao.OpenGL, etc.

Happy coding =)
Regards,
Sheridan Bulger
-Day Job | Software Developer | Deacom, Inc.
-Moonlighting | President (lead) | Nonpareil Studios, LLC.

#3 Zorphas   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 15 February 2007 - 02:00 PM

I already know how to make text base rpg games in C++, and very little OpenGL (how to draw squares, lines and stuff...) but I dont know anything about DirectX or how to make a 2D game... So I should start with SDL.Net?

Also I was wondering if there are any video tutorials out there for very simple games like pong or tetris that can get me started.

Thank you.

#4 daviangel   Members   -  Reputation: 600

-1Likes

Posted 15 February 2007 - 02:53 PM

Quote:
Original post by Zorphas