• Create Account

cout vs printf ???

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1 BUnzaga   Members   -  Reputation: 267

0Likes

Posted 12 April 2007 - 09:11 PM

Hello I am new to programming in C++, and I am doing various tutorials, and for some time I was really frustrated and confused that in some tutorials they would tell me to use iostream and cout and in other tutorials they would tell me to use stdio.h and use printf. I finally learned that the stdio.h was for use with C and iostream is used for C++. My question is which is more standard? Are they both used in almost every application, or is one used and another not, or how do you decide which one you want to use? Which is better for gaming? Which should I memorize? Should I just remember the syntax for both, and just include both in all of my programs? Thanks, BUnzaga

Sponsor:

#2 DevFred   Members   -  Reputation: 836

0Likes

Posted 12 April 2007 - 09:22 PM

Quote:
Original post by BUnzaga
Hello I am new to programming in C++ [...] My question is which is more standard?

If you're programming in C++ use cout.

#3 thallish   Members   -  Reputation: 202

0Likes

Posted 12 April 2007 - 09:30 PM

Using cout would also be my recommendation, but more important be consistent with the use. Do not use both. IMO that just leads to cluttered code. It is no problem if you have learned both, more power to you, but with power comes responsibility[wink]. Well that was probably over the top, but you get the point.

Good Luck

#4 CTar   Members   -  Reputation: 1134

0Likes

Posted 12 April 2007 - 09:30 PM