Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

How can I speed up sattlite internet


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 kingpinzs   Members   -  Reputation: 109

Posted 11 November 2007 - 07:10 AM

Right now I am in a differnt contry and the only choices for internet is sattlite and it is slow. SO I was wondering how can I speed it up using a server? Like caching or anything like that. I have lots of funds to make this work becasue alot of people are counting on me to make there internet faster. So is there a way to cache sites and or make it so it downloads things and you dont have to keep going across the world to the other servers to get wat your looking for?

Sponsor:

#2 Sean T. McBeth   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1489

Posted 11 November 2007 - 07:13 AM

Oh, I thought this was going to be a step-by-step instruction list.

[Formerly "capn_midnight". See some of my projects. Find me on twitter tumblr G+ Github.]


#3 Monder   Members   -  Reputation: 993

Posted 11 November 2007 - 07:53 AM

By slow do you mean there's a large amount of latency (e.g. it takes a very long time between you clicking a link and it actually starting to load) or the data transfer rate is low (i.e. once you've started a download or something it's pretty quick)? Satellite is generally high data rate, but also high latency as you need to send signals to geostationary orbit and back, which takes a while and there's not much you can do about it.

#4 Rixter   Members   -  Reputation: 785

Posted 11 November 2007 - 10:08 AM

I recommend placing the dish on a very tall pole.



#5 Toolmaker   Members   -  Reputation: 935

Posted 11 November 2007 - 11:08 AM

Setting up some sort of proxy software with caching capabilities(Such as ISA Server), you can speed up things. But only often viewed sites, as these sites would be cached. However, it wouldn't work with dynamic pages.

As said before, satellite internet is slow to respond because the data needs to go from the ground to the satellite, back to the ground and from there on over wires. So, if you normally have a 150ms latency, a satellite could easily add up another 500ms to it, and you can do nothing about it.

If you have quite some funds, perhaps you could pay someone to run a wire to your location? I assume there are companies willing to lay you a long wire(Or a bundle) so you can share that with the rest of your 'community'.

Toolmaker

#6 acidwillburnyou   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Posted 11 November 2007 - 11:37 AM

Google Accelerator may help a little.

#7 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6107

Posted 11 November 2007 - 11:54 AM

How much funds are we talking about here ?

Getting a fibre connection is definitly the best option, but ofcourse its expensive if you live far from any real civilization, RLAN could be a far cheaper option (a radio tower can cover quite large distances at a reasonably low cost, and still provide low latencies and reasonable datarates).

a cache system is definitly doable, (most web proxies should be able to act as a cache server aswell)

here is a list with a whole bunch of caching proxy servers (some are free, some are not).

#8 Randy of Neuron   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Posted 11 November 2007 - 12:33 PM

I have been dealing with this issue directly myself. So let me step by step things for you.

First off, Satellite is always going to have high latency (pings in the 800 range) That is because of the distance to the satellite and back to earth. Nothing can be done for the latency.

For the speed however, I have hughesnet at the moment (the worst company in the world if your stuff breaks I might add) You need to realize that whatever the satellite company says is the download speed....well in reality it will be about 1/2 that. So Hughes brags about 600K, well it is about 300K if your lucking on a good day and a magic Unicorn standing next to your dish.

Signal strength is a big one. Make sure you have about 70 or higher. otherwise packets start getting lost.

On most satellite packages you are provided an IP for a proxy that caches things. You have to set this up in your internet connections are, not in the browser. I have found (even thought it periodically needs uninstalled and reinstalled) Google Accelerator speeds things up. It is a cache server for google items which is what everyone uses anyhow.

Also remember this. Satellite companies like any IP company will put lots of peoople on the same subnet, meaning you are sharing bandwidth. A lot of time they will keep putting people on the same subnet till people start bitching. So start bitching and tell them you want on a subnet with fewer people. They will tell you they can't like 100 X but if you keep bitching they will eventually move you.

That is about it. In a nutshell satellite sucks, and Hughesnet sucks more than anyone. That is why I am going to put up a WiMax antenna in the nearest town and beam it to my house deep in the forest.

I hope this helps. If you can find a town with broad band nearby, you could get a WiMax antenna and do the same.


Sincerely,Randy Trulsonwww.NeuronGames.com

#9 kingpinzs   Members   -  Reputation: 109

Posted 12 November 2007 - 12:38 AM

the thing is I am in IRAQ and cant leave the post so the only option is to run Hughesnet through wafa.ae so I thinck the best idea is to web caching and or web proxy. My signal strength is 98 and latency is avrage 1000ms so is there way to cahech enogh on a 2TB drive that people should see a huge improvment and is there anything else I can run on a server with 4TB 2GB ram and 2.6ghz cpu and 2 gib nics with a rouer and a switch. our burst speed is 2MB down and 256K up. I need to provide internet to about 20 to 30 people with this so it will be affortable.

Thanks for all the info so far. Also the prices of anything will be absorbed by every one.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS