Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


using reimp for mingw


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 pbjgame   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 28 April 2008 - 12:17 PM

I don't understand how to input the commands to convert the .lib to an .a file. I've actually read a few tutorials on using it, but I just don't understand how to input the commands.

Sponsor:

#2 pbjgame   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:18 AM

Basically I need to know is how to do the -c <file location> thing, or the syntax for telling reimp to convert a file.

#3 Josh Petrie   Moderators   -  Reputation: 2716

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 29 April 2008 - 04:11 AM

It's run from the command line. You can open a command prompt by going to Start -> Run and typing "cmd" then hitting enter. Then you can navigate to your project's directory via the "cd" commands and execute the reimp command; it looks like it's little more than "reimp filename.dll" but you can typically run these sorts of things without arguments to a get a usage/help message that explains how to use the program. Try that.

Josh Petrie | Core Tools Engineer, 343i | Microsoft C++ MVP


#4 pbjgame   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 April 2008 - 11:24 AM

I checked the functions but I don't know how to use them. I don't understand the syntax...like c:\directory\reimp.exe -c dxguid.dll

I can't get it to work.

#5 Kwizatz   GDNet+   -  Reputation: 1167

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 30 April 2008 - 01:24 PM

Quote:
Original post by jpetrie
It's run from the command line. You can open a command prompt by going to Start -> Run and typing "cmd" then hitting enter. Then you can navigate to your project's directory via the "cd" commands and execute the reimp command; it looks like it's little more than "reimp filename.dll" but you can typically run these sorts of things without arguments to a get a usage/help message that explains how to use the program. Try that.


Actually it really is as simple as "reimp filename.lib", provided that the directory reimp.exe resides in is listed on the PATH environment variable and the command is given in the folder containing filename.lib.

Here is the output of reimp without any arguments:

Quote:

$ reimp
Usage: c:\MinGW\bin\reimp.exe [options] IMPLIB
-s, --dump-symbols dump symbols to stdout
-d, --only-def only create .def files
-c, --keep-case keep case in lib*.a file names
--dlltool <name> use <name> for dlltool
--as <name> use <name> for assembler


Sorry but the idea of someone in a development forum not knowing how to use the CLI really baffles me [tears], am I the only one?.

#6 pbjgame   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 04 May 2008 - 02:37 PM

Quote:
Original post by Kwizatz
Quote:
Original post by jpetrie
It's run from the command line. You can open a command prompt by going to Start -> Run and typing "cmd" then hitting enter. Then you can navigate to your project's directory via the "cd" commands and execute the reimp command; it looks like it's little more than "reimp filename.dll" but you can typically run these sorts of things without arguments to a get a usage/help message that explains how to use the program. Try that.


Actually it really is as simple as "reimp filename.lib", provided that the directory reimp.exe resides in is listed on the PATH environment variable and the command is given in the folder containing filename.lib.

Here is the output of reimp without any arguments:

Quote:

$ reimp
Usage: c:\MinGW\bin\reimp.exe [options] IMPLIB
-s, --dump-symbols dump symbols to stdout
-d, --only-def only create .def files
-c, --keep-case keep case in lib*.a file names
--dlltool <name> use <name> for dlltool
--as <name> use <name> for assembler


Sorry but the idea of someone in a development forum not knowing how to use the CLI really baffles me [tears], am I the only one?.


Problem is, I type in the executables directory, and it sends me right back to my main c:\documents and settings\owner and if I run the executable file directly it just closes really fast. I didn't have these problems before win xp

#7 EdR   Members   -  Reputation: 117

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 04 May 2008 - 02:47 PM

Quote:

Problem is, I type in the executables directory, and it sends me right back to my main c:\documents and settings\owner and if I run the executable file directly it just closes really fast. I didn't have these problems before win xp
Add it to your path. Link




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS