• Create Account

Creating a text-based game,

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
29 replies to this topic

#1 unwantedminority   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 25 June 2008 - 09:44 AM

Ok, I'm a noob, I've no clue on programming games. I was wondering if there was anybody out there who would guide me through the creation of a text based game? Maybe via I.M. or something? If so please P.M. me or add me to MSN unwantedminority@hotmail.co.uk Cheers.

Sponsor:

#2 Twisol   Members   -  Reputation: 468

0Likes

Posted 25 June 2008 - 09:53 AM

I can't personally help you with that, but the C++ Workshop has some great projects that might be exactly what you want to try.

#3 unwantedminority   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 25 June 2008 - 10:00 AM

I'm a complete newbie... Those titles mean jack to me and I have no clue where to start! :(

#4 Twisol   Members   -  Reputation: 468

0Likes

Posted 25 June 2008 - 10:24 AM

I suggest getting a good book on a programming language of your choice then. C++ is supposedly tough to learn, but I had no problem with it myself. I think (in my opinion) C# is a good language to learn at the start too. Online tutorials can be good, but usually books are better. "Thinking in C++" is an online, downloadable book though, and it's great, although I wouldn't say best for a new programmer.

#5 unwantedminority   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 25 June 2008 - 10:27 AM

So you think something like C+ for dummies or something like that will be enough? I'd consider myself fairly intelligent... I picked up HTML in about half an hour.

#6 monp   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 25 June 2008 - 10:37 AM

A book I liked when I was figuring at the basic was. "C++ Without Fear" In my opinion it was a pretty decent book.