Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

setting display mode


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tuan   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 24 November 1999 - 03:02 PM

Could anyone help me how to change the display mode in Windows 95 by Windows API functions or DirectX?
Thanks a lot.

Sponsor:

#2 STG   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 November 1999 - 01:52 AM

One of the past articles detailed this,

It's accessible from the menu on the left of the main screen

[This message has been edited by STG (edited November 19, 1999).]


#3 Matthew Allen   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 November 1999 - 03:46 AM

This tutorial covers the DirectX part: http://members.tripod.com/mxf_entertainment/tutorials/directdraw.htm

------------------
- mallen22@concentric.net
- http://members.tripod.com/mxf_entertainment/


#4 jtecin   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 November 1999 - 12:09 PM

The function to do this is

lpdd->SetDisplayMode(SCREEN_WIDTH, SCREEN_HEIGHT, COLOR_MODE)

where lpdd is your direct draw object. But if you want to do this you have to include ddraw.h, and then create the direct draw object before hand.


#5 Tuan   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 19 November 1999 - 04:41 PM

My problem is on Windows 95 only, no for Win98/NT4 (I used both GDI and DirectX). Example: my display is 16 bits depth, and I can't change to 8, and vice versa. But Starcraft did!

#6 Smack0007   Members   -  Reputation: 157

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 November 1999 - 04:11 PM

I this what you mean?

to change it:

DEVMODE dmScreenSettings ;

dmScreenSettings.dmSize = sizeof(DEVMODE);
dmScreenSettings.dmPelsWidth = Width;
dmScreenSettings.dmPelsHeight = Height; dmScreenSettings.dmFields = DM_PELSWIDTH | DM_PELSHEIGHT;
ChangeDisplaySettings(&dmScreenSettings, CDS_FULLSCREEN);

to go back:

ChangeDisplaySettings(NULL, 0);


#7 Smack0007   Members   -  Reputation: 157

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 November 1999 - 04:13 PM

I this what you mean?

to change it:

DEVMODE dmScreenSettings ;

dmScreenSettings.dmSize = sizeof(DEVMODE);
dmScreenSettings.dmPelsWidth = Width;
dmScreenSettings.dmPelsHeight = Height; dmScreenSettings.dmFields = DM_PELSWIDTH | DM_PELSHEIGHT;
ChangeDisplaySettings(&dmScreenSettings, CDS_FULLSCREEN);

to go back:

ChangeDisplaySettings(NULL, 0);


#8 Melo   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 24 November 1999 - 03:04 AM

Here's another problem:

If i switch the resolution to 800x600x16 with DirectX and the Desktop's resolution already is 800x600x16 the GFX are messed up.

I don't know why this happens...

[This message has been edited by Melo (edited November 24, 1999).]


#9 Tuan   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 24 November 1999 - 03:02 PM

Thanks for your guide. In your code, I don't see the component: dmBitsPerPel, it is my problem! When I switch from 800x600x16 to 640x480x16, it is OK. But I can't switch to 640x480x8 mode(Win95 only).




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS