Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

quake 3 arena engine


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
15 replies to this topic

#1 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 20 December 1999 - 04:12 AM

is there anyway i can get the quake 3 arena engine?

Sponsor:

#2 Gecko   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 December 1999 - 11:28 AM

buy the game and wait for id to release the source code.

------------------

_________________Gecko___


#3 Gromit   Members   -  Reputation: 144

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 December 1999 - 11:31 AM

I really don't think that id is just going to give away the quake 3 engine... That is until it's a couple year out of date.

#4 Dave Astle   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 2307

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 December 1999 - 01:56 PM

I'm sure you can get it. Just call id.

You DO have the $500,000 (I'm guessing) licensing fee, right?


#5 logistix   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 December 1999 - 02:14 PM

Isn't the engine just the .dlls? People are already making mods for Quake 3, believe it or not. I don't know what bl was looking for though.

#6 Jim Adams   Members   -  Reputation: 440

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 15 December 1999 - 03:43 PM

Hmmmmm Considering the Unreal engine started at $1,000,000 (I believe) I think the engine is going to be a bit higher than that Let's all follow Bill Gates around and bug him for some pocket change.

When you do license the engine, you do get the full package out of it though (source code and all). At least that's how it was with Quake 2 and Unreal engines.

I heard ID was severly lacking in Customer support on it though, while the other co that made unreal was excellent.

Has anybody ever thought of just making engines to license out? I'm kinda curious on this sort of thing - might be the way to go if you can't make a full game - just make the engine and then license out for $$$$.


Jim Adams


#7 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 15 December 1999 - 04:24 PM

Well when you really look at Quake 3, that is what Id is really doing. I mean there is no single player mode with scripted scenarios/levels and ther is no real attempt at making a story/plot. They just dump you into a maze and let you gun down everybody. Quake 3 is just a kick a** demo of an awsome 3d eninge. Not that I am complaining. Quake 3 really exciting game IMHO :-) But it is basically Id showing of their engine for other developers.

It is people like Valve (maker of Half-Life, for those of you who live a sheltered life) that take this engines and really make them into intense worlds with plot and style and substance.

So what I am trying to say is that Id is in the business of making an engine and selling it to other developers. When we get to the point that network lag is a thing of the past and every one has super fast acess to the net with no delays, the successor of the Quake 3 (Quake 5?) could turn into THE Gameing OS. Think about.

Vijay Parikh


#8 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 16 December 1999 - 11:58 AM

how do you make mods and models for q3a?

#9 logistix   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 December 1999 - 01:48 PM

You might want to start looking at http://www.q3arena.com/

there's ALOT of sites out there for plain old quake and halflife mods, too.


#10 Ratman   Members   -  Reputation: 181

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 December 1999 - 03:30 PM

Heres how it goes:

-The dll files and tools (qeradiant) were released the other day. go to like www.fileplanet.com or www.quake3arena.com and you can probably find them there. Get this if you want to make mods. Basically what they give you is the header files, and the already compiled object files. You can change certain parts of the game, but none of the real technical stuff (rendering, network).

-if you want the full engine and source code...your going to be waiting a long time. They'll probably release it in 5 years. By full engine/source, I mean everything you would need to compile the entire game. You could buy it now for probably $1,000,000+. Of course when they release the source, that doesnt mean you get all the media...just the code (you still gotta buy the game to play the real thing).


#11 TheGecko   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 December 1999 - 04:11 PM

Hmm...true...the engine goes for a good $1M+
But there is a game that's in the making right now that is using the Quake 3 engine. It's called Alice from EA (alice.ea.com)
Check it out...it seems to be a pretty cool game!

#12 logistix   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 December 1999 - 04:16 PM

Of course you only need the source code if you plan to _improve_ on the engine Quadlinear filtering and 64 bit color would be nice.

While we're on the topic, you can get the Halflife Pro SDK at:
http://www.valvesoftware.com/hlsdk.htm

Which supposedly has everything you need to compile halflife from scratch.

You have to fill out an NDA, other restrictions, but suprisingly you can sell anything you make over the web, just not on CD's floppys etc.

I haven't ordered it yet, though. If I do I'll never finish the project I'm working on now (game written from scratch) and I'm so close.


#13 Teflaun   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 16 December 1999 - 07:59 PM

This is not a shameless plug but if a 3D engine is what you want to play with, then I would suggest the Acknex engine. $1500 for the engine (obviously without source), the editors, and scripting engine. Or as low as $200 bucks for the lite version (the one I got. cool deal). I say the graphics engine is a level above the QuakeII engine.

[This message has been edited by Teflaun (edited December 17, 1999).]


#14 Stark   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 December 1999 - 04:12 AM

Teflaun, do you have a URL for us to look at? I'd be interested in seeing this engine, even though I'm a long way away from making any 3D game.

#15 Teflaun   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 17 December 1999 - 06:15 AM

I believe it's http://www.conitec.com/a4info.htm. The best example of the engine is a project called Winthorp's Mansion.

#16 NuFAN   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 20 December 1999 - 04:12 AM

Hi,
as to Acknex4 ... you can't compare it with the Q2-engine, because Q2 was much faster. A4 isn't worth the money, because you'll have much trouble using it. Some friends of mine got it and it's only a half engine, because many features are missing and shall be out later. If you remember the AVI-Player or dynamic lighting, nothing yet. If I use one's engine, then I'd use Genesis3D or Crystal Space, but writing your own one roqz.

And, you have many other restrictions using A4, so better leave it.

CU

------------------
Skullpture Entertainment
#40842461





Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS