Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

bryce as level editor?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
9 replies to this topic

#1 -marty-   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 June 2001 - 06:36 AM

I want to make a level for a game such as a racing game or a flight simulator (with landscapes like insane or delta force). Is it possible to make the level in Bryce 4 without getting very low frame rates or must i make the level in 3d studio max or do i have to make my own level editor?. thanks for reading, hope you have an answer. I Edited by - -marty- on June 23, 2001 3:30:39 PM

Sponsor:

#2 deadlinegrunt   Members   -  Reputation: 123

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 June 2001 - 10:39 AM

If you are to the point of designing your own levels or even coding your own level editor for your game then you should be able to make this decision on your own.

This isn''t a flame. Just think about it.
YAP-YFIO
-deadlinegrunt

#3 -marty-   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 June 2001 - 08:54 PM

But is it possible to use bryce as a level (terrain) editor or is bryce not meant for creating levels for games?

#4 Mulder   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 June 2001 - 10:41 PM

hmm i dunno really never heard of a leveldesigner using bryce
i know 3dmax is good as is maya

#5 Null and Void   Moderators   -  Reputation: 1087

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 23 June 2001 - 11:05 PM

I''ve heard of people using 3D Studio Max (with their custom plugin of course) to make their levels. However, I''d assume that making a custom editor is the way to go in the majority of cases.

[Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!]

#6 deadlinegrunt   Members   -  Reputation: 123

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 24 June 2001 - 11:20 AM

My experience with Bryce (limited as it is) is that you can use it for enviromental maps, i.e. "sky art". As for level design using that tool, you may have to look around for other alternatives. Perhaps we have some resident experts in the house that would like to enlighten us all. Any takers?

YAP-YFIO
-deadlinegrunt

#7 Ben Hanson   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 June 2001 - 06:53 PM

I have alot of experience with bryce 3d from back in the day. in Bryce 4 didnt they add more export support, such as DXF, ect.? If so you could easily design your level in bryce and just load in the dxf(most commonly known 3d file format ) and spit it on the screen.

#8 TrIaD   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 June 2001 - 07:04 PM

if you''ve got Bryce4, yes, you can export terrains to DXF and some other formats, and I believe you can also get pretty good control over how dense the mesh is...
so, if all you''re needing to do, basically, is design a heightmapped terrain, Bryce will work for you...
you can also export heightfield bitmaps in versions as old as 2, I think... which may be just as good

on the downside, I don''t know anything about exporting textures with Bryce... it''s theoretically doable, but I don''t know what format the textures wind up in, or how it makes them, or how you might be able to use them...

if you have bryce4, you should read the manual and play around with the export options; this should help you make up your mind

...and yes, Bryce also rocks for making cubic environment (sky) maps

--Tr][aD--

#9 TrIaD   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 26 June 2001 - 07:07 PM

(sorry, had to make another comment )

incidently, I have absolutely no clue why DXF is the most widely-supported format...

in my experience, it''s the most inefficient format I''ve ever seen... saving a mesh in ALMOST ANY FORMAT OTHER than DXF results in anywhere from 50 to 75% decrease in file size

--Tr][aD--

#10 -marty-   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2001 - 03:20 AM

allright so it is possible to make levels with bryce
Is it as good as 3d studio max or maya.

btw thanks for all the replies, I couldn''t find the answer on the internet.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS