Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Simple Graphics mode


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Daishim   Members   -  Reputation: 244

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2001 - 11:41 AM

I''m looking for a super simple graphics mode to use while learning C++. I''m just changing languages so I''ve got the concepts but I would like to use a simple graphics mode while learning C++ to allow for expanding the C++ knowledge to graphics/games while learning. I''ve looked into OpenGL but it''s a little too complex right now. I''m using MSVC++ and Borland Turbo C++ so new or old, any simple mode will do.

Sponsor:

#2 Martee   Members   -  Reputation: 476

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2001 - 12:04 PM

There aren't really any simple graphics modes (except for mode 13h, I suppose), but there are numerous libraries which make doing graphics much easier. I would recommend Allegro.
~~~~~~~~~~
Martee

Edited by - Martee on June 27, 2001 7:06:18 PM

#3 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 27 June 2001 - 12:06 PM

I would suggest mode 13h, its great for learning c++ in console mode. I am not sure what OS your using, but with a few simple BIOS interrupts you have access to writing to the vga memory.. You dont need any knowledge on interrupts, just a tad bit on computer memory. check out this site ->
http://www.brackeen.com/home/vga/

Also you can go to unchained mode, which is a bit more complex, but you get higher resolutions. If you need source to any simple games written in it, email me hell_barbarian@yahoo.com


#4 Dactylos   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2001 - 12:07 PM

Mode 13h under DOS is the easiest in my opinion. You should be able to use it with your Turbo C++ compiler. Use assembly language to setup the videomode.

IIRC:
      
asm {
mov ax, 0x13
int 0x10
};


It's been years since I used it, so I might remember incorrectly. After you have setup mode 13h you have a 320x200x8 framebuffer linearly arranged in the segment 0xA000.

ex.
        
void putpixel(unsigned int x, unsigned int y, unsigned char color)
{
asm {
mov es, 0xA000
mov ax, y
mov di, ax
shl ax, 8
shl di, 6
add di, ax
add di, x
mov al, color
stosb
};
};

(Remember, It's been years since I actually used this stuff, and since I wrote the above off the top of my head it's probably incorrect )

Etc etc....

I can recommend learning SDL (under Windows), or some other simple API though. Using it is very straightforward and you don't need to bother about setting up a window etc. Of course eventually you should learn to do it "by hand" (I mean setting up your own window and such), and some might argue that you should begin by doing stuff the hard way to really learn how it works "under the hood".... But do whatever feels good for you

Edited by - Dactylos on June 27, 2001 7:10:20 PM

#5 Daishim   Members   -  Reputation: 244

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2001 - 12:37 PM

Will Allegro work with Turbo C++ and MSVC++, all I see are DJGPP documentation and DGJPP has some quirky things in it compared to the above two.

#6 Martee   Members   -  Reputation: 476

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 27 June 2001 - 12:49 PM

Allegro will work with MSVC. You need one of the newer WIP''s, not version 3.12, though.

~~~~~~~~~~
Martee




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS