Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Borland's C++


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 Kodra   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 June 2001 - 11:39 AM

I just got the book IsoHex book and tried loading up some of their samples. Each time I got an error saying "Error Writing Output File". The error occurs after the very last line of code. My question. Is there something I need to do to get my complier to accept this code? Or do I need to get a different compilier? ~Kodra "You and all those mental wimps deserve to die, isn''''t that right, mister THREE-FOURTEEN"~Mortimer McMire

Sponsor:

#2 deadlinegrunt   Members   -  Reputation: 123

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 June 2001 - 01:07 PM

I am completely guessing here what your problem is, be fore-warned:

It sounds like you are trying to write something to disk this is marked read-only or some other reason you have no access. Are you trying to compile something straight off the CD for example? Just some things you can possible look for.

YAP-YFIO
-deadlinegrunt

#3 Daishim   Members   -  Reputation: 244

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 June 2001 - 01:31 PM

This happens sometimes if you compiled the program before and it crashed but is still running in the task list... thus being read only. Try checking the task list or restarting. It may also be because you are trying to compile off the CD like deadlinegrunt said.

#4 Kodra   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 June 2001 - 02:55 PM

Well that answers that question but now it gives me a Unreferenced external ''_main''. I''ve seen this before when I have parameter problems in other C++ progs, but in this context I''m rather stumped. Any help?

"You and all those mental wimps deserve to die, isn''''t that right, mister THREE-FOURTEEN"~Mortimer McMire

#5 flame_warrior   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 30 June 2001 - 12:20 AM

Thats because its expecting

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR szcmdline, int ncmdshow) { //code here }

instead of int main() { }


#6 Kodra   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 30 June 2001 - 12:51 AM

It has the int WINAPI WinMain instead of the int main though.

~Kodra

"You and all those mental wimps deserve to die, isn''''t that right, mister THREE-FOURTEEN"~Mortimer McMire

#7 deadlinegrunt   Members   -  Reputation: 123

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 30 June 2001 - 04:34 AM

quote:
it gives me a Unreferenced external '_main'


What I am getting out of this statement is that it is actually looking for main, not WinMain. Now if this is an actual win32api style program that should be using WinMain then somehow you have manage to link against the wrong libraries. (It's trying to make a console app instead of a windows app) Did this have a project included with it? If not and you just open the source files I know VC++ will default to console version linkage when it makes a default workspace. I'm not sure about Borland, but if I were to hazard a guess I believe it probably does something very similar.

YAP-YFIO
-deadlinegrunt

Darn tags --

Edited by - deadlinegrunt on June 30, 2001 11:35:46 AM

#8 flame_warrior   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 30 June 2001 - 08:51 AM

Do
bcc32 -W filename.c

THe -W implies its a windows program, else it will look for main.

#9 Cyberdrek   Members   -  Reputation: 100

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 03 July 2001 - 12:04 AM

quote:
Original post by Kodra
Well that answers that question but now it gives me a Unreferenced external ''_main''. I''ve seen this before when I have parameter problems in other C++ progs, but in this context I''m rather stumped. Any help?

"You and all those mental wimps deserve to die, isn''t that right, mister THREE-FOURTEEN"~Mortimer McMire


Try creating a new Win32 EXE program instead of a Win32 Console App. That should solve your problem...



"And that''s the bottom line cause I said so!"

Cyberdrek
Headhunter Soft
A division of DLC Multimedia

Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS