• Create Account

C++: No output from cout object

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 JohnsonGPS   Members   -  Reputation: 109

0Likes

Posted 28 April 2009 - 12:51 PM

I am using Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition, and I am new to it. Just to test the water, I wrote a simple Windows Form application. I also use cout object to output some strings. When I debugged it in IDE, I saw no string being outputted to the debug window of the IDE. When I ran the application from command windows, I didn't see any outputs in the command windows as well. So where the strings go? Any thought? Thank you! The codes are very simple: #include <iostream> using namespace std; void CTest::Dump (void) { cout << "\r\n Test the water!"; }

Sponsor:

#2 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9417

1Likes

Posted 28 April 2009 - 01:06 PM

By default std::cout outputs to the standard output handle. However, an application running in the Windows subsystem doesn't have standard out hooked up to anything. You could create a console with AllocConsole() and then redirect standard out to that console window. Ex:

AllocConsole();
freopen("conin$","r",stdin);
freopen("conout$","w",stdout);
freopen("conout$","w",stderr);

#3 SiS-Shadowman   Members   -  Reputation: 359

0Likes

Posted 28 April 2009 - 11:45 PM

If you want to write stuff to the debug window of VS, you need to use the OutputDebugString function.

#4 rozz666   Members   -  Reputation: 600

0Likes

Posted 29 April 2009 - 12:08 AM

Try this:

std::cout << "\r\n Test the water!" << std::flush;

#5 Prefect   Members   -  Reputation: 373

0Likes

Posted 29 April 2009 - 10:04 AM

To expand on rozz' post: Most likely, your strings are caught in some stream buffer which is not being flushed at exit of your program.