AngelScript JIT/AOT implementation details (technical)

Started by
48 comments, last by quarnster 14 years, 8 months ago
Hello! I know the topic of JITs have been up on the table before, but I couldn't find any details concerning actually implementing one. This is mostly directed to you, Andreas, but as this is information that will interest others wanting to add a JIT/AOT compilation for their processor of choice, I choose to post this here (and in English!) rather than emailing you directly. I started playing around with AOT compiling for AS as a fun sparetime project to get to know the ARM architecture a bit better. But before I get too deep into the actual implementation (and would have to rewrite the whole shebang to fit with your ideas) I figured I'd ask you what your thoughts are when it comes to JIT/AOT compiling and how it all would hook into the AngelScript engine. I think writing a JIT/AOT compiler is a big project to take on unless you can split it out into chunks and take it one step at a time. As such, one of the features I'm interested in is to be able to mix native machine code with AS bytecode and switch between them. Thus I suggest a new AS bytecode instruction is implemented "JIT" (or something else, but I'll use that name from now on). I've not thought this through 100% so the actual implementation will likely change during the course of the work on this. But my current idea is that the "JIT" bytecode would:
    - if JIT is enabled:
        - save l_bc, l_sp, l_fp to the context
        - Call "ExecuteJIT(this, machineCode)",
             where "this" is the asCContext and "machineCode" is a pointer to
             the array containing the native code to execute (where this code
             buffer is actually stored is to be decided...)
        - load l_bc_l_sp,l_fp from the context
    - else:
        - nop