• Create Account

What is the best way for players to communicate with server

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 j33lee   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 22 October 1999 - 02:12 AM

Hi,
I'm just starting out, and I was wondering what was the best way for players to communicate with the server. Is it through sockets? The multiplayer game I have in mind is one which the entire game is on the server (so no game data lies on the client side) and it's in real time.
I hope my jabbering makes some sense.
Thanks in advance.

Sponsor:

#2 DavidRM   Members   -  Reputation: 270

Posted 15 October 1999 - 07:19 AM

I would say basing your client-server communication on TCP/IP (sockets) is pretty much a given.

------------------
DavidRM
Samu Games

#3 Niels   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Posted 15 October 1999 - 12:58 PM

Ah, but it's not...

Especially not if the game is all (or mainly) server side, and you are even remotely interrested in clients that sit behind a firewall. Sockets won't bypass a firewall (in general).

In this case you need to move up a layer, and go for HTTP - it is not as fast but for a lot of applications it's a lot easier, at it has benefits (such as the firewall issue)...

I'll launch a new site in the comming weeks, which is a client/server game using HTTP, that should give an impression of what can be done with HTTP. (Java for the UI on the client, ASP for the prototype server - that might change to ISAPI, or MTS components)

/Niels

#4 DavidRM   Members   -  Reputation: 270

Posted 15 October 1999 - 04:10 PM

Firewalls are easily accounted for. SOCKS4 for TCP, SOCKS5 for UDP.

As for HTTP...why punish yourself unnecessarily??? ;-)

------------------
DavidRM
Samu Games

#5 Niels   Members   -  Reputation: 122