• Create Account

Java vs C#

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 SoCow   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:59 PM

I understand it's always difficult to choose between languages, I also understand one is probably better off learning more than one. C# and Java seem so similar- I'm studying them parallel to one another but, when it comes down to it which one will be around longer? Everything comes to an end. Java is older by a bit but, there seems to be far more support for it. C# is younger but, it has far less literature on the subject. What are the pros and cons of each language (Besides the obvious)? Why does Java have so much support and literature? Is C# just taking off? And what about Sun suing MS over Java? I couldn't fully grasp that.. Please enlighten me. And no convincing and converting- I'm gonna learn both regardless. This is simply to gain perspective.. I've already come so far with Java and will continue until I'm very fluent, the similarities make it easy to hop to C# whenever I want.

Sponsor:

#2 DpakoH   Members   -  Reputation: 902

0Likes

Posted 05 August 2009 - 08:45 PM

hi,
i am sure this is not the first post about java vs c#, please use the search functionality for this forum :) now, this being said, i want to state my own opinion, the only major difference for me between the languages is that java is multiplatform. so, i think the question is if you are looking for a job as a programmer, are java programmers more wanted or C# programmers.

one more thing from my own exp, Visual Studio is a better IDE than Eclipse, again it's my own opinion, dont spit on me , you java-gurus (:

have a nice day!

#3 demonkoryu   Members   -  Reputation: 976

0Likes

Posted 05 August 2009 - 09:01 PM