• Create Account

Any good dead reckoning examples?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 BearishSun   Members   -  Reputation: 147

0Likes

Posted 20 September 2009 - 11:13 PM

Hi, I'm wondering if there are any good dead reckoning(I hope I'm using the term right) examples? I'm currently working on a MMO, and I have no previous experience with this I'm having problems syncing the data properly. Currently I send 5 updates per second(is this too low?). I run movement on both client and server and try to adjust the client data slightly based on the actual data received from the server although I have problems when character suddenly stops. (I can either have him standing at the wrong position client-side, or I can fix his position which causes him to "glide" to the new position). I'd really like that when he stops he stops pretty much near the actual server position, because I don't notice the gliding in other MMOs(unless under heavy lag). I've tried searching though many books and tutorials but I can't find anything useful, and I plan on spending the next month to have this working perfectly in my game, so it would be helpful to have a working and tested example. Or any advice? Thanks!

Sponsor:

#2 hplus0603   Moderators   -  Reputation: 5165

0Likes

Posted 21 September 2009 - 06:08 AM

If you extrapolate, stopping will be a problem no matter what.

An alternative is simply to display every entity based on data that you receive (interpolate between old positions). This will cause some latency in movement to be visible, but that's typically OK when you're doing an RPG.

If you want to do extrapolation, the sample app for the Entity Position Interpolation Code does show what it looks like.

#3 BearishSun   Members   -  Reputation: 147

0Likes