C++ GUI for games

Started by
3 comments, last by mmakrzem 14 years, 6 months ago
Hi, I'm a java programmer and I'm studying c++ to develop games. From my java experience, I already have created a simple mario game. In studying object oriented programming in c++, I created a simple tetris game. Problem is, I used cin and cout for input/ output. I want to know how to create simple windows apps (like JFrame, Canvas, JPanel) in c++. Currently, I'm developing in Ubuntu. I'm not sure what kind of c++ (installer) will I use in Windows XP ( and how do I install this?). Also, please help me find a decent IDE that I would be using in case I develop in Windows XP. My target in c++ is to create a simple rpg game using mouse clicks for movement commands and keyboard inputs for other commands. How will I achieve this? What libraries do you recommend (and how do I install these?). And last thing, can I create an OS independent application? I'm not sure but I think I will be using win32 api in Windows but of course that won't work on Linux. Or do you recommend that I master only in 1 OS for my apps? Thanks!
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by racumin
please help me find a decent IDE that I would be using in case I develop in Windows XP.

Visual C++ 2008 Express. Doesn't get much better than this (not for free, anyway).

Quote:My target in c++ is to create a simple rpg game using mouse clicks for movement commands and keyboard inputs for other commands. How will I achieve this? What libraries do you recommend (and how do I install these?).

You don't need a GUI to achieve that, just simple keyboard and mouse handling, which any game library supports.

As for which one to use, I recommend that you try SFML.

(That site seems to be down at the moment, hopefully it won't be for long.)

Quote:And last thing, can I create an OS independent application? I'm not sure but I think I will be using win32 api in Windows but of course that won't work on Linux.