Internship, need tips for resume

Started by
5 comments, last by TheTroll 14 years ago
Hello, I am a student in software engineering and I'm trying to get an internship as game programmer in different companies. I made some attempts before and never got called back. For this summer I'd really like to get one so I am wondering if I should change something. So here's roughly how it was written (text approximated) ************************************* Curriculum Vitae name address tel email Objective : create cool video games Qualifications : excellent in C++, including STL, metaprogramming; good in .NET and C#; personal experience programming 3D and 2D video games. Qualities: fast learner, good writer, etc. Languages: french and english Education: Now : software engineering before: pure science Recent achievements - made a 3D game for school (giving some details) - made a Pac-Man clone (with web link) Relevant knowledge Languages: C, C++, C#, python, etc. Software: Visual Studio, Eclipse, etc. Professional experience Two internships as programmer (not for video games), giving some details about what I did there. Hobbies ************************************* Thanks for any tips. I am currently working on an independent project with another guy but it's way too early to show anything, I don't know if that's worth mentioning?
Advertisement
It's very difficult to give pointers on why your CV may not be getting you the internships you want without actually seeing it. For all we know, your CV looks pretty much (and reads pretty much) as you've described (even though I know you said the text was approximated).

Have a look at this other post, specifically how the resume has been presented for people to critique and the suggestions by frob, and then maybe update your post a little.

Thank you. Following a careful read of that thread, I've completely reworked my resume. I fear it is a bit too minimalistic, but in any case, here it is for you to critique:

My Name