• Create Account

school choices

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 Meqar   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 24 January 2010 - 09:26 PM

I'm going to guess that someone probably already asked about this but I'll ask again cause I can't find the thread. How do independent schools like Art Institute, Ringling and Collins compare to going to a true university. Say that I got a degree from an independent school and actually did put in the effort to have a good skill-set ready, how would that compare in the real world for me when a company takes a look? Also, are any of these independent schools offering degrees particularly better than others that anyone knows about?

Sponsor:

#2 Chrono1081   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 24 January 2010 - 09:40 PM

You'll end up getting the usual "Go to a 4 year University for a computer science degree and make games on the side".

Practical life experience however shows that this doesn't necessarily land jobs. What WILL help though is whichever school you choose, make the most of it, go the extra mile and learn not only in the classroom but on your own. Any college, no matter what will only get you so far. Its up to you to study, learn whatever you can on the side and work on creating a good portfolio by the time graduation goes around.

That being said I did a local tech school for 1 year, a 4 year uni (Penn State) for two years then switched to DeVry and went with their online option. I learn better on my own and have learned much more from an online school then I did at a standard college. Your milage may vary.

#3 OneThreeThreeSeven   Banned   -  Reputation: -52

0Likes

Posted 24 January 2010 - 09:50 PM