where to start?

Started by
10 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 2 months ago
so i have been playing with code for the past 6 years but like most young men in america, parting and gym caught my eye for the college years, i have experience in flash, jass and a few others that is basic stuff. I enjoy making games, working on code and just making your first "gun" shoot a bullet, it is exciting. I am working on my AA now and looking at this industry, it seems to be almost to much to get into the industry. I mean I would love to be a game developer but to even get into a small company is hard to get an intership, i mean i work as a waiter and going to back to school, but any company for intership wants to work me more then what i can give. this is really become a damper on what i thought to be my carreer. I mean should I start reading C++ code and start working on that before i try to even get an intership? and what engines should I try to familarize myself with?
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by hairybeavet
1. should I start reading C++ code and start working on that before i try to even get an intership?
2. and what engines should I try to familarize myself with?

1. You should work to improve your English writing, grammar, and spelling. You say you're going for an Associates' degree? A bachelors' degree in Computer Science is standard -- an Associates degree is insufficient. You might want to View the Forum FAQs (above).
Also, don't worry about internships yet. Get educated first.
2. You should ask beginner questions about programming environments and languages in the For Beginners forum. In this forum we discuss education, portfolios, job applications, etc.
But in general, it doesn't matter what tools, languages, or engines you start with -- you'll learn several of them in the course of your education anyway, and will be expected to be familiar with several of them when you start applying for jobs.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com