Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


about Scene Texture mapping


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 jerry2   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 02 August 2001 - 02:41 PM

how to make a suitable and comfortable scene texture mapping?and the texture must be seen at any watcher position. jerry2

Sponsor:

#2 jerry2   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 04 August 2001 - 03:19 PM

why?no one knows?though it''s a simple problem,but.......
plz tell me.......

jerry2

#3 zedzeek   Members   -  Reputation: 528

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 09:40 AM

cause i assume noone understands the question, i certainly dont

#4 jerry2   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 08:00 PM

Oh,my mistake,i''m very sorry!

my meaning:as we all know, we can make a background for a scene.for example,the mountains in a distance in NFS r made of the texture,and it''s mapping as the background,so we can see the mountains stand beyond,like the true mountain model.

i think it can be mapped on some very big polygons,and then put them into the scene to be as the background.

but i think this way is no good.i think there may be a better way to make it.
every body, do u understand it?

jerry2

#5 wolfman8k   Members   -  Reputation: 140

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 06 August 2001 - 12:42 AM

It is probably a texture mapped on a quad. Note, the quad doesn''t have to be a square mile in size and a couple miles away: It''s just rendered first, without zbuffer writing.

#6 jerry2   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 06 August 2001 - 01:37 AM

ok.....i see. does that mean we make a screen,and the texture for background we want is mapping on that?

jerry2
Programming,make a whole new world.

#7 zedzeek   Members   -  Reputation: 528

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 06 August 2001 - 10:56 AM

load in your texture say a 256x256 sized one (though thisll result in a bit of stretching to get rid of the stretching use the top 3/4 )
ok load in your texture + now u want to draw this texture over the whole background right?
goto the faq http://www.frii.com/~martz/oglfaq/ + check out question 9.090




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS