Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Banner advertising on our site currently available from just $5!


1. Learn about the promo. 2. Sign up for GDNet+. 3. Set up your advert!


Try My first "3DEngine" =)


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 Metus   Members   -  Reputation: 168

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 01:39 AM

I've been playing around with OpenGL for some days now and finished some (that I think ) very impressive steps =) http://www22.brinkster.com/wixner/glengine.zip Read the ReadMe for keys =) Edited by - Metus on August 5, 2001 8:42:48 AM

Sponsor:

#2 Julio   Members   -  Reputation: 116

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 03:24 AM

not bad, my only complaint is that the keys didn''t work on my system so I had to bust out good ole'' control-alt-delete.



How many Microsoft employees does it take to screw in a light bulb?
None, they just declare drakness as a new standard.

#3 Metus   Members   -  Reputation: 168

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 03:33 AM

None of the Keys. or only the Quit Key? (ALT+Q)
Well, It''s just a temporary solution with the ALT+[Key], Now I''ll try to open a Menu via the [TAB]-key where to toggle modes and see the FPS Calculator.. =)

#4 lwentzel   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 04:07 AM

I checked out your 3D Engine. Not bad. It is certainly a good start. The "sphere" option didn''t seem to work for me. Also, there is an issue when you press a key combination that it goes really fast. Meaning, I press Alt + G to generate a new land and it looks like the landscape is jumping all around. I didn''t see anything that reported frame per second. Anyways, nice start. By the way, the ALT + Q did work for me. As did every other key. Just not ALT + S.

#5 Anonymous Poster_Anonymous Poster_*   Guests   -  Reputation:

Likes

Posted 05 August 2001 - 04:14 AM

The demo looks good, I initially thought that the keys wouldn''t work on my system. The problem is that Alt+key requires you to press Alt+Shift+key as the keys are in Capitals.



-------
FireFly

#6 Metus   Members   -  Reputation: 168

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 06:44 AM

Ok, I''ve updated the Demo, Now with full 3D Movement Support =)
The Keys Are Moved to the Numeric Keypad [0, 1, 2, 3, Enter]

The only reason why everything''s going to fast is that no Timing is implemented...no FPS Calculations either

Anyway, the Updated demo is:
http://www22.brinkster.com/wixner/glengine.zip

#7 grady   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 08:33 AM

Metus, I wrote a little movement routine a while back that lets you move in the quake3 ghost mode style. I couldn''t get the camera to look up or down with the mouse in your demo so I thought you might want to look at the way I do it. It took me a while to figure out how to make it work perfectly so if you don''t already have that working and you want to save some time I''ll send it to you.

#8 Metus   Members   -  Reputation: 168

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 08:37 AM

Sure, I''ll take a look at it, but ghost mode, isn''t that where you can travle at the Y-Axis as well? like "fly-mode"??

you can mail it to Wixner@Hotmail.com


#9 grady   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 10:18 AM

Yeah you can travel in the y axis. Its good for examining the scene from any point of view. You can disable it easily.

http://members.home.net/gradyfield/moving.zip

#10 dirkduck   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 09:13 PM

Wow, very impressive for your first. Im also a newbie to OpenGL (newer then you) and im wondering, how did you make the landscape?

McDougal...DUCK McDougal

#11 Metus   Members   -  Reputation: 168

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 05 August 2001 - 09:30 PM

Well, It''s pretty simple..
Just create a structure defining a vertex point
typedef struct
{
GLfloat vX;
GLfloat vY;
GLfloat vZ;
}Heightmap;

Heightmap hMap[10][10];

for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++)
{
for(int j = 0; i < 10; i++)
{
hMap[j].vX = i;
hMap[i][j].vZ = j;
hMap[i][j].vY = (Rand() % 1000) / 990
}
}

/*Draw*/
glBegin(GL_QUADS);
for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++)
{
for(int j = 0; j < 10; j++)
{
glvertex3f(hMap[i ][j ].vX, hMap[i ][j ].vY, hMap[i ][j ].vZ);
glVertex3f(hMap[i+1][j ].vX, hMap[i+1][j ].vY, hMap[i+1][j ].vZ);
glVertex3f(hMap[i+1][j+1].vX, hMap[i+1][j+1].vY, hMap[i+1][j+1].vZ);
glVertex3f(hMap[i ][j+1].vX, hMap[i][j+1].vY. hMap[i][j+1].vZ);
}
}
glEnd();

Basically: then you have to recalcualte the texture position to X / 10
Y / 10


#12 Metus   Members   -  Reputation: 168

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 06 August 2001 - 10:40 AM

My third edition of my simple 3D engine "glEngine" is now up @ http://www22.brinkster.com/wixner/glengine.zip

The world''s a little bit bigger, better generated, but thus, a bigger texture has to be used (512*512) so therefore the bigger download
Furthermore, FULL 3D Movement support is implemented...

Have a Nice...Whatever it is at you place =)




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS