A+ Certification - how difficult is it?

Started by
8 comments, last by Binomine 13 years, 11 months ago
Hey, I'm looking at getting A+ certifified, merely because most the tech-support jobs in my area seem to require it. I don't have a formal education, all my knowledge is self-taught through online articles and books, and I'm wondering how difficult getting certified is. Has anyone here taken the new 2009 tests? How hard are they? The extent of my hardware knowledge is summed up in that one time I once upgraded my video-card; I've never built my own PC (though I'd like to eventually, just haven't got the money atm), or anything like that, I'm mostly a software guy so far. The problem is, looking at what the test covers, it usings alot of hardware terms I don't understand. To give you an example, here is some of what the test covers that I'm not yet familiar with: 1.2 Explain motherboard components, types and features • Form Factor o ATX / BTX, o micro ATX o NLX • I/O interfaces o Sound o Video o USB 1.1 and 2.0 o Serial o IEEE 1394 / Firewire o Parallel o NIC o Modem o PS/2 • Memory slots o RIMM o DIMM o SODIMM o SIMM • Processor sockets • Bus architecture • Bus slots o PCI o AGP o PCIe o AMR o CNR o PCMCIA • PATA o IDE o EIDE • SATA, eSATA • Contrast RAID (levels 0, 1, 5) • Chipsets • BIOS / CMOS / Firmware o POST My question is, should I just grab a book on the CompTIA A+ Certification exams itself, or should I grab a book on computer hardware, or should I take a class? Most of the computer classes around here (Kansas City, Missouri) are seriously dumbed down, covering everything from turning on your computer, to even (*gasp*) moving the mouse across the desktop! And in only 8 weeks, too! How do you recommend I proceed? (Like I mentioned, most entry-level tech jobs around here require A+, whether or not it's of any real value)
Advertisement
My system: