• Create Account

Negamax Algorithm (I am a beginner to this)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 lxy   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 16 May 2010 - 03:57 PM

I am new to game programming.And I know Artificial Intelligence Algorithm is the most important things in developing games. As everyone knows, Nagemax is the basic things in AI. It was found by Knuth and Moore. But I can't understand it clearly. Can anyone recommand some books or papers to me that help me understand it. And the example in internet is obscurity. Can anyone know a example that clearly explain it . Thanks very much

Sponsor:

#2 lingfors   Members   -  Reputation: 128

0Likes

Posted 16 May 2010 - 09:44 PM

Basically, it's just "what's good for me is bad for my opponent".

#3 DrEnzyme   Members   -  Reputation: 100

0Likes

Posted 19 May 2010 - 11:43 AM

I don't know any books but I'll give it a go...

A Negamax algorithm is a way of selecting the best possible move/decision from a range of all possible decisions. The algorithm trys to "look into the future" to predict what the opponent is going to do. From all the possible outcomes, the algorithm selects the move that will give it the greatest advantage while giving the opponent the greatest DISadvantage, hence the term Negamax/Minimax.

There are a couple of things that are important to remember:

1) This algorithm only works for a turn-based game that has a finite number of possible decisions (pokemon, blackjack, connect 4, naughts and crosses etc)
2) The algorithm always assumes that the opponent will choose the best possible move (no human error).