• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

[java] Java overtaking C in game development?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
38 replies to this topic

#1 menyo   Members   -  Reputation: 500

0Likes

Posted 23 November 2010 - 08:53 PM

Hi,

I am a self thought web developer that wants to learn a language to make applications or even games with. I am still wondering what language to choose but i guess it's java vs C. Now i have been doing some research and it seems C is still ruling the market. But i have read in some places that java is starting to get bigger and in a lot of cases makes life easier on bigger applications.

Now i am leaning towards java because of future prospects. But i have also been looking into university classes and certificates and it seems here in holland they offer way more java then C classes.

So is there anything i need to know choosing java over C?

Sponsor:

#2 Madhed   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3137

1Likes

Posted 23 November 2010 - 09:31 PM

I don't know if C is used in game development that often anymore.
Maybe you mean C++ or C#?

C is pretty low-level and most often used in device drivers, embedded systems and OS kernels.

I'd suggest java, C# or C++.
It's perfectly possible to write games in java.

#3 _swx_   Members   -  Reputation: 995

0Likes

Posted 23 November 2010 - 09:37 PM