Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

From Glut to Win 32


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 cMADsc   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 August 2001 - 07:19 AM

Greetings all, I have been using glut in my opengl programming lately. Although, I have been learning win 32. Here is a question to those who made the transition from glut to win 32. How much of win 32 did you learn for opengl? The whole language or just enough to make a window? How much should one learn of win 32?Thanks in advance. ----------------------------- "There are ones that say they can and there are those who actually do." "...u can not learn programming in a class, you have to learn it on your own."

Sponsor:

#2 WayfarerX   Members   -  Reputation: 130

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 August 2001 - 11:55 AM

Yo really don''t need to know a whole lot. Spend a little time on NeHe''s site, the first few tutorials go over getting set up in windows.
Also consider getting "OpenGL Game Programming" by the GameDev gurus themselves, it has a good overview of what Win32 you need to get OpenGL up and running.

"If consquences dictate our course of action, it doesn''t matter what''s right, it''s only wrong if you get caught."
- Tool

#3 Pauly   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 August 2001 - 02:05 PM

It''s only syntax and semantics you have to learn. The notion of a message processing loop and callbacks you''ve already learnt through GLUT.

Win32 is esentially the same, but with some ''interesting'' (read: questionable) variable names and weirdo CApiTAlisatION

Paul Groves
pauls opengl page

#4 grady   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 29 August 2001 - 04:55 PM

wouldn''t you rather use SDL? www.libsdl.org :D

#5 wolfman8k   Members   -  Reputation: 140

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 31 August 2001 - 10:56 AM

quote:
Original post by grady
wouldn''t you rather use SDL? www.libsdl.org :D


Or even better: AllegroGL

But really, why in the world are you developing under win32????

#6 Ronin_54   Members   -  Reputation: 122

Like
Likes
Like

Posted 01 September 2001 - 06:44 AM

I guess ''cause he wants to program a Windows game? At least, that is the case with me...




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS