[slimDX] textures on the simpletriangle

Started by
2 comments, last by Xyno 12 years, 7 months ago
i have been working with slimdx (direct3d11) for 2-3 months now.
i started programming about 1.5years ago, the only langue i know is c#.

thats why i chose for slimdx when i started working on my game, i have been able
to make basic triangles, squares, qube's, etc. implement rotation(on the cpu) and i made a basic game world in which i can move around.

uptil now i have used shader only to return a color, colering my world by giving each polygon another colered shader, but now i would like to use textures(image .bmp or .jpg or something like that) instead of colors for my polygons.

so my question is how do i get to use a image instead of a color to be drawn as my polygon?

i have been searching for 3days and so far i havent found any helpfull tuturial about the subject for slimdx, i have found a dx11 tuturial to place a texture on a cube. (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff729724(VS.85).aspx)
and i have been trying to use it to put a texture on the simpletriangle slimdx tutorial, but the only thing i get are erors or just a plain blue background.
this i probably due to the fact that i dont understand c++ or hlsl.

so if anyone has/knows some working code/ tuturial to put a texture on a square, triangle or cube , i would realy apriciate that.

the thing i'm currently stuck on is this :

from the msdn dx11 tutrial mentioned above :