Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


What Does Everyone Think About The New Site Layout?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
487 replies to this topic

#341 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9417

Posted 12 January 2011 - 01:20 PM

Same version. Again, it happens if you have the smiley in the original post. Edit that post, uncheck the emoticon check box and then preview. The emoticon check box then gets reset to on.

Sponsor:

#342 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 4661

Posted 12 January 2011 - 01:20 PM

It's happening to me in Chrome. But, it's not for new posts, it's specifically for editing an existing post.

I see it now, it's when you edit an existing post where smilies were enabled when you first made that post. Okay, logging that as a bug and updating the journal

Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net


#343 Michael Tanczos   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 5148

Posted 12 January 2011 - 01:23 PM


It's happening to me in Chrome. But, it's not for new posts, it's specifically for editing an existing post.

I see it now, it's when you edit an existing post where smilies were enabled when you first made that post. Okay, logging that as a bug and updating the journal


That type of stuff should probably be submitted to invisionpower.com in their tracker, not ours. That's a core software bug.

#344 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9417

Posted 12 January 2011 - 01:24 PM

Okay, logging that as a bug and updating the journal

I already submitted it as a bug.

#345 Aardvajk   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5269

Posted 12 January 2011 - 02:53 PM

Ref the ratings, I think we have two separate issues here - ratings system as it applied to the technical posts and ratings system as it applied to the lounge posts.

The lounge culture and the technical forums were really two different things in my view, almost two different communities really. I'd argue the old system worked very well on the technical forums and I guess very badly in the lounge, although I wasn't in the habit of posting or even reading that much personally.

So my view is that it is a shame that the failure in the lounge (which is also, I feel, the source of the vast majority of complaints about the old system) has led to the removal of what I and others feel was a very effective system for the technical forums. But then as a largely non-lounge user who comes to the site for technical content rather than chatter, I suppose I would think that. I fully respect that the lounge is an important part of the community for many and the two sides need to co-exist.

Aside from the above, I'm adjusting to the new site, I'm actually pleased I no longer have to pay for an avatar and a journal and I look forward to seeing the future improvements. That certainly wasn't my initial attitude but I've apologised enough about that :).

#346 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 4661

Posted 12 January 2011 - 02:57 PM

That type of stuff should probably be submitted to invisionpower.com in their tracker, not ours. That's a core software bug.

Right but I want it in ours too since members can't see the ones we send in to IPS right?

Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net


#347 Cygnus_X   Members   -  Reputation: 359

Posted 12 January 2011 - 02:58 PM

Is it just me, or do the forum list no longer tell you if a new message has been left in the forum since your last visit (ie, all the icons are the same, unless the topic is closed)? This is quite annoying.

#348 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9417

Posted 12 January 2011 - 03:01 PM

Is it just me, or do the forum list no longer tell you if a new message has been left in the forum since your last visit (ie, all the icons are the same, unless the topic is closed)? This is quite annoying.

This was mentioned in Gaiden's blog post: there's a link at the bottom of forum pages to mark the board as read. Click that to get the icons to change.

#349 leiavoia   Members   -  Reputation: 960

Posted 12 January 2011 - 03:07 PM

Here's another issue. I'm not submitting this as a "bug" per se, but something that just needs to be on the general radar:

I grabbed the HTML for the forum index page... 213k! back in the "old days" anything more than 50k was getting very heavy. My computer is a bit older and it definitely suffers in redraw and scrolling speeds, just beacuse there is so much markup. Download speeds will also take a noticeable hit.

You might say, "well everybody has broadband now." But if people really do want to view the site on a mobile device or iThing, then it's going to crawl.

As a longterm project, we might look into removing some of the extraneous markup from the forum. Especially if server bandwidth is a pricey issue. 200k per hit adds up really fast!

#350 Madhed   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2509

Posted 12 January 2011 - 03:09 PM

...I don't like the placement of the name. I feel like it should be over the avatar picture...


Seconded. I think this would bundle the user info more to the left box.

#351 way2lazy2care   Members   -  Reputation: 782

Posted 12 January 2011 - 03:19 PM

You might say, "well everybody has broadband now." But if people really do want to view the site on a mobile device or iThing, then it's going to crawl.

it's also a sizable hit to people with download caps on their phones.

The output is different for mobile devices as ips generates mobile sites automatically though, so it might not be a huge issue?

#352 zer0wolf   Members   -  Reputation: 1018

Posted 12 January 2011 - 03:22 PM


You might say, "well everybody has broadband now." But if people really do want to view the site on a mobile device or iThing, then it's going to crawl.

it's also a sizable hit to people with download caps on their phones.

The output is different for mobile devices as ips generates mobile sites automatically though, so it might not be a huge issue?

The site is quite different when looking at it on my HTC Hero.



laziness is the foundation of efficiency | www.AdrianWalker.info | Adventures in Game Production | @zer0wolf - Twitter

#353 way2lazy2care   Members   -  Reputation: 782

Posted 12 January 2011 - 03:35 PM

The site is quite different when looking at it on my HTC Hero.

Can you tell how big the download is easily? I'm curious :3


On Topic: Did quotes become infinitely nestable again? I think it cut out quotes of quotes in replies when it started. I liked it, because some of these reply chains can get pretty excessive. Or perhaps make it so the highest level you can go to is 2-3 quotes?

How difficult would it be to add the multi-quote functionality to every reply button? I find it troublesome when there are so many clickable reply buttons everywhere but the two I want are all the way at the top or bottom of a page.

#354 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 4661

Posted 12 January 2011 - 04:13 PM

On Topic: Did quotes become infinitely nestable again? I think it cut out quotes of quotes in replies when it started. I liked it, because some of these reply chains can get pretty excessive. Or perhaps make it so the highest level you can go to is 2-3 quotes?

How difficult would it be to add the multi-quote functionality to every reply button? I find it troublesome when there are so many clickable reply buttons everywhere but the two I want are all the way at the top or bottom of a page.

Yea seems someone re-enabled that. I agree that if we can cap nests, we should.

It would be extremely difficult to modify the multi-quote behavior, maybe impossible. We are very reluctant to play around with base forum code we have access to as the more we gravitate away from the normal behavior of this forum the more we get back into the troubles we had maintaining our custom software with the old website. The best we can do in cases pertaining to base forum functionality is request a change from IPS in a later software update.

Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net


#355 zer0wolf   Members   -  Reputation: 1018

Posted 12 January 2011 - 04:14 PM

Can you tell how big the download is easily? I'm curious :3

Unfortunately, no. I have a company paid data plan and I can't monitor it. I can tell you it takes no longer than four seconds from clicking on the link in by bookmark widget to loading the browser and having the forum index up.



laziness is the foundation of efficiency | www.AdrianWalker.info | Adventures in Game Production | @zer0wolf - Twitter

#356 Wan   Members   -  Reputation: 1366

Posted 12 January 2011 - 04:49 PM


Can you tell how big the download is easily? I'm curious :3

Unfortunately, no. I have a company paid data plan and I can't monitor it. I can tell you it takes no longer than four seconds from clicking on the link in by bookmark widget to loading the browser and having the forum index up.

Spoofing the HTC's user agent in Firefox, 12.45 kB for the home page (that's only the HTML of course).
For some reason the software isn't detecting the use of my old iPhone 3G and loads the normal view. :(

#357 dmatter   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2980

Posted 12 January 2011 - 04:50 PM

Does anyone know the criteria used to identify a post as 'active' for the Active Content page? It seems there is quite a disparity between active content and latest content, in that latest content is entirely up-to-date whereas active content is a splattering of new and older stuff and it updates less frequently.

#358 szecs   Members   -  Reputation: 2099

Posted 12 January 2011 - 04:54 PM

Could we go back to 25 posts per page? Or is there a setting somewhere?

#359 Gaiiden   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 4661

Posted 12 January 2011 - 05:04 PM

Could we go back to 25 posts per page? Or is there a setting somewhere?

In your profile drop-down, select "My Settings" and then select the "Forum" tab to see the drop-downs for post and topic numbers visible per page

Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net


#360 rip-off   Moderators   -  Reputation: 7701

Posted 12 January 2011 - 05:05 PM

Could we go back to 25 posts per page? Or is there a setting somewhere?


In your "user settings / forums", you can change the values of "posts/topics" per page.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS